We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place, service is lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Museum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“NIce place, service is lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Museum is a lovely hotel in a great location in Uchisar. It's a "cave hotel" so all of the rooms are built into the old caves which is interesting.

The room are large and pretty nice. The bed was fairly comfortable, but not great. Climate control in the rooms was a bit lacking, and my wife and I both ended up being quite hot.

Wifi barely worked in our room - they warn it won't work in some rooms due to the cave configuration, which is fine. That said, they blocked Facebook access which is fairly bizarre (must be a default setting they have)...

The restaurant is quite excellent, possibly the best dinner we had in 12 nights in Turkey. A large selection, nice room, good wine list.

Service is the weak point in the hotel. From the restaurant to reception to housekeeping, whenever we had a request it was usually misunderstood or generally ignored. For example, in the bathroom we had put the hand shower in the mount on the wall as we don't take baths. The next day, the housekeeping staff had removed the hand shower from the wall, so we had to put it back up again. Unfortunately, it was jammed, so we asked the front desk to fix it while we were out at dinner. We have no idea if they came or not, but they certainly did not fix it. After 15 additional minutes of playing with the shower head, I was finally able to get it back on the wall. Not exactly 4-star service. Had other mediocre experiences at breakfast, dinner and the outdoor "bar" area (where it's very hard to get a drink).

That said, it's mostly minor stuff, and a lot of it felt like it was just due to understaffing/overworking of the staff. Still a great destination as much of what's great about the hotel is irrelevant of the service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    60
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
177
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My friends and I recently spent two nights at the Museum Hotel as part of a private tour of Turkey. Cappadochia had already started to overwhelm us with it's scenery when we arrived at this marvelous place; we thought we were moving into a magical kingdom. Everywhere we looked there were antiques and beautiful objects. We had very comfortable rooms with garden views, not cave rooms (and so the price was reasonable), but the rooms were extremely well appointed and comfortable. The peaceful garden was a wonderful view, although I would like to return some day and get a cave room with a window overlooking the valley. Since we didn't have the view from the room we spent our time in comfortable chairs on the marvelous patios that look out over the spectacular scenery. Watching the balloons in the morning while we ate breakfast was particularly memorable. The staff were politely attentive and served hors d'oeuvres even though we'd brought our own wine to drink. They also offered shawls when it got a bit chilly, although we hadn't even thought to ask. The dining room was also great. Although I found the food and wine everywhere in Turkey to be much better than I expected, the offerings here were particularly good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Museum in August 2008 and we still recall this perfect charming accommodation.

Indeed, we loved Museum Hotel: a charming luxury boutique hotel with incredible rooms carved in the tufa. Each room is different from the other and has its own exclusive furniture: you will find also antiques coming from a private art gallery/Nevsehir’s museum. The majority of the rooms’ windows are carved in the tufa and overlooking the valley.

The location is superb: the hotel is located on the hill where old and picturesque Uchisar village has been built, so that the hotel overlooks the valley.

From all hotel’s terraces and from some rooms you will have breathtaking direct views of famous rock (tufa) formations (so called Fair’s Chimney) of and the valleys. All the premises are absolutely well maintained and perfectly decorated. The swimming pool is very nice, well decorated with stones and mosaics; you can relax inside the pool overlooking the valleys (the only drawback is the cold water, but it was “regenerating”). The hotel is small and quite so that you will relax.

The staff is kind and helpful, they helped us in organising our trips. They are professional and serious so that just ask their trips’ proposals. Absolutely suggested the ballooning: an unforgettable unique experience. In addition it takes about 5 minutes on foot to get to the small village of Uchisar.

The food is fresh and delightful and it was lovely having dinner on their terrace overlooking the valley.

To sum up, this is one of the few cases in which the beautiful pictures over their web site are not misleading: actually the hotel is even better!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I saw the pictures of this hotel on the internet before we left, but I have to say that it was absolutely gorgeous. We had a deluxe cave room and it was very well equipped with a mini bar fridge, cofeemaker and a jet tub. Living in a cave was an incredible experience that I wont soon forget. The hotel grounds were stunning as the hotel is on the top of a hill and overlooks the dramatic landscapes of Cappadocia. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and accomodating. The food was fantastic. The owners have ensured every detail is attended to. The place is really like a museum, with acient artifacts placed everywhere including our room. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We recently spent 2 nights at the Museum Hotel, in a deluxe cave room. The Cappodaci aarea is so unique and the hotel added to our experience. The hotel and the room were very clean and exactly as shown on the hotel web site. The staff were all friendly and eager to try to please, even if there was sometimes a bit of difficulty with their English skills. The food in the restaurant was very good. The cave room that we were in overlooked the spectacular valley, with a view of many of the hot air balloons that go up at sunrise. If you are exploring the area, and your budget permits it, a sunrise hot air balloon ride is a great way to experience this unique area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We recently enjoyed a wonderful vacation in Turkey, and loved Cappadocia. We were, unfortunately, not so impressed with this hotel.

We were on a private, guided tour, and our tour company put us into this hotel when the one we were to stay at was unavailable. Unfortunately, they put us only in a standard room. While the room was very nice, the bathroom was ridiculously small.

The hotel itself is very nice. The view is outstanding. The restaurant was very good.

We found the hotel staff indifferent and surly. While the hotel receptionist who met us on arrival was very pleasant, she was the only one who was. The maitre d'was particularly unpleasant. By way of example, the desk clerk asked if we intended to stay for dinner, and we told her would love to. Later on, when we arrived for dinner, the maitre d' asked us if we had made a reservation. Though we explained to him that we had told the desk clerk we would be attending, he made quite a display of determining if he could seat us. As it turned out, the restaurant was less than half-full that evening.

On another occasion, we were explaining to the desk clerk that we would be picked up early the next morning, and wished to pay our bill that night. While we were talking to him, another member of the staff came along and interrupted. The desk clerk then chose to deal with the staff member, and left us to wait until they were finished their conversation.

While this hotel is very nice, and Uchisar was a great location, if service is important to you we'd suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We loved this unique and charming hotel. It is so different and the whole expereince was wonderful. The restaurant is excellent and where in the world can you eat your breakfast with hot air ballons overhead. An interesting collection in the muesum, a turtle garden and a terrace to stroll along with wonderful views of the amazing landscape. What a place!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Business Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.