We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect launching point for our tour of magical Cappadocia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Museum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Uchisar
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the perfect launching point for our tour of magical Cappadocia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We booked our lodging at The Museum Hotel on recommendation of a friend who is an ex-pat and well traveled in Turkey. Our Museum Hotel experience met or exceeded all of our expectations. Staff greeted us with a relaxed and friendly manner. Our room, 'the Harem" ,was a spacious cave suite with it's own wine tap, large jacuzzi tub and heated marble floors. Some reviewers mention the beds being hard - we've found that hotel beds are generally firm throughout Turkey. We dined at the on sight restaurant, Lila, and truely enjoyed the food but the view of the valley floor as the sun reflected it's final rays was spectacular. Breakfast on the terrace at the same restaurant offered an extensive array of traditional Turkish and European fare along with views of numerous hot air balloons drifting back to earth after sunrise excursions. The restaurant served some local wines from grapes unfamiliar to us. We especially enjoyed the reds and added a delightful tour of the Turasan Winery in Urgup to learn more about viticulture in this area. The Museum Hotel is an actual museum of treasures discovered in the Cappadocian area and is lovingly supervised by the hotel's owner. We found the Museum Hotel and Uchisar [highest hisar] to be the perfect launching point for a tour of magical Cappadocia.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    52
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
65
141
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

Our first stay at the Museum Hotel was in November 2007 in one of the cave suites - the Lazy Hunter. This would be an excellent choice for a romantic stay as there is a comfortable window seat over-looking the valley as well as a jacuzzi with the same great view. At that time, it was still warm enough for the traditional barber to set up his chair on the terrace - what a place for a shave!

We've just returned from our second visit to Cappadocia and took advantage of the 40% off winter rates to book two standard rooms. These rooms don't have the same view and aren't actual caves, but there are very nicely fitted, with great showers, a comfortable window seat, and little extras like fruit and nuts on arrival. The only sore point would be that the beds are rather hard.

I would also recommend the on site Lil'a restaurant. This could be one of the best restaurants in the country. Try anything with the delicious almond cream sauce as well as the chocolate soufflé with walnuts and almonds. We ate at an outside restaurant the second night, but returned to the Lil'a for dessert!

  • Liked — It is a great overall choice
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed in the Elflatun suite that overlooks the pool. It was very roomy and had loads of atmosphere. We had the breakfast (included) each morning and it was wonderful. I especially recommend the home-made yogurt in the clay bowls. We also ate all of our dinners at the hotel and they were very delicious. Prices were high by Turkish standards but not at all by European standard.
The staff was very accomodating and welcoming. We even met the manager and his first concern was that everything was OK with our stay.
The only complaint (a small one) is that the Jacuzzi jets didn't work and the shower head was pitifully in need of repair.

  • Liked — Spacious and tastefully decorated room
  • Disliked — Broken jacuzzi and shower head
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

Great hotel which is unique as your room is a cave. We had a deluxe room with a very nice view. Service is great and view from terrace by the pool is amazing.

  • Liked — Location and rooms
  • Disliked — No indoor pool or spa
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We have just returned from a stay at the Museum Hotel in Cappadocia and it is an absolutely beautiful property. We were 3 of us and stayed in one of the cave suites-Escape which was perfect with an extra bed. The location is magical and the views magnificent. It has been restored with a painstaking attention to detail and the personal touch of the owner. We took one of the walking tours with the owner through one of the valleys and he told us about the history of the hotel and the restoration project--clearly his baby. The restaurant was excellent with modern turkish cuisine. This is the place to stay if you're going to cappadocia. It's probably more expensive then the other places but entirely worth it. A real classy joint with genuine antiques strewn around the property and the rooms. We got to see some other rooms as well as the owner took us around the property and all therooms were really unique.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We had an amazing 3 day stay here, the weather was hot, the pool is stunningly beautiful and icy cold! The staff were very attentive, although we found the reception staff a little offhand. The 2 rooms we had were beautiful and well stocked. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and dinner, they even brought us shawls late at night when temperatures had dropped slightly as we sat on the balcony.We loved the tortoise wandering around outside, and my husband had the best shave ever, sitting looking out over the stunning landscape!We had a balloon ride whilst there, would definitely recommend this if you can afford to.

  • Liked — setting
  • Disliked — reception
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

The Museum Hotel is a wonderful, charming hotel. The cave rooms are very tastefully done but also luxurious.

The restaurant was phenomenal!! We ate at several restaurants in the area, and the Museum's restaurant was by far the best one. The head waiter, a man named Softic, will accommodate your every need. I have never received such good service in my life. He is truly a gem.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.