We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS GOOD AS IT GETS ! STAY HERE !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Museum Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Uchisar
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS IT GETS ! STAY HERE !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We've just returned from a great tour of Turkey and were lucky enough to stay at the Museum Hotel. Cappadocia was the highlight of the trip and the Museum hotel extraordinary--one of the best hotels we've ever had the good fortune to stay at. There is so much to see here, and the natural wonders are truly amazing. Be sure to take a tour and see one of the underground cities, the fairy chimneys, etc--it's all extraordinary. We had a private guide, arranged through the hotel, which was expensive but very worthwhile (ask for Ibo if you can). This is a cave hotel, carved out of ancient sandstone, and be sure to stay in one of the original cave rooms--it's luxurious, but hundreds of years old with a view to die for. The site of the hotel, views and decor are truly extraordinary--and unique. The service, is, however what really sets the Museum Hotel apart. The waiters in their fantastic restaurant, the front desk personnel, even the maids (i went back to my room to see 8 people cleaning it at the same time !) work very hard to insure EVERYTHING is as you wish. Stay here--we can't recommend it more highly. ( and who ever thought you'd get free wifi in a CAVE !)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    67
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
195
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Look no further for a perfect stay in Cappadocia. My girlfriend and I just returned from a two night stay at the Museum Hotel and can't say enough good things about it. We travel frequently around the world and always enjoy a unique experience. It would be tough to beat this one. We stayed in the Uchisar suite, which was a two story room - the bedroom and TV area on the top floor and the bathroom on the bottom. The bathroom was spacious with a two person jacuzzi bath and very large marble shower. The entire suite had windows with amazing views overlooking the valley. The most striking feature of the room is that it's a cave! Take a look at the photos and they speak for themselves. You really feel like you're living in a cave, which you are, and it fits the surrounding environment perfectly. Of course it's a cave with all the modern comforts. The room was decorated with beautiful local carpets and wall fixtures, and we both found it very comfortable. The bed was not outstanding, but was above average and fine for us especially after long days of hiking and ballooning. I have heard that other "cave hotels" in the region lack good heating. Ours was great, even on relatively cold March nights, to the point that we opened the windows during the day to cool off a little. I can say with certainty that it's the type of room that you want to spend a lot of time enjoying, which is more than I can say with most hotel rooms I stay in.

Service was outstanding. Help was always present at all hours. We left very early in the morning on our last day and there was a man asking to assist with baggage. Someone friendly is always around to serve and answer questions. As with everywhere in Turkey, the service industry is extremely caring and friendly...in a genuine way.

The only thing I can think of mentioning that I was a little disappointed about was the hotel's restaurant. Although luxury and gourmet, I thought it was very expensive for the quality of food and service. We ate there both nights and both times thought it was underwhelming. The appetizers were bland, one night the bread was stale, and the entrees were definitely good but not amazing. I had better food experiences at much cheaper restaurants during my many trips to Turkey. The town is small though, so perhaps you'll have difficulty finding better food. But I would suggest venturing away from the hotel to look elsewhere. If you're there for a while, try the restaurant one night and then decide for yourself. It is a beautiful setting, so you won't be completely let down no matter what.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. I didn't see any rooms other than the one I stayed in, but if you can get the Uchisar suite, or any other similar room, I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is a cave hotel, absolutely beautiful, with excellent service. Good breakfast included. Top of the line at a reasonable price. You can't ask for more. Try for a room with the best view you can get. We stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Nirvana. We went in January and it was very quiet and serene - I don't know how it would be in summer or spring. Has an infinity pool.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

There are many hotels in the area that were caves that have been made into hotels but this is very special. Make sure you watch the video on the restoration process of the hotel that is available in your room. We arrived at dusk on a Tuesday and sat at the bar and watched the sunset. Beautiful view! The food at the restaurant is regional to Cappadocia and the waitstaff ensured are meals were to our satisfaction. The local-made wine, Acibadem, and vodka were very good. The rooms were nicely appointed. This is a wonderful boutique hotel. We would like to return in the summer/fall and use the infinity pool.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

this hotel is totally amazing. The food and rooms are quite good

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir,Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I have stayed 4 nights with my family. Foods are great. Scene is marvelous. You can see the balloons taking off and landing on just in front of you. The rooms are excellent. The region gave me a positive energy. It was very authentic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel itself is unique and does offer spectacular views. Our concerns were:
- the lighting in room was insufficient rendering reading at night almost impossible.
- for the room rate, we'd expect at least complimentary drinking water. We were charged for 4TL for a 500ml bottle.
- no internet facility in the room
- limited dining option

We'd recommend this hotel for those looking for something different.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlgtsn, Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
There lots of things to write about the concerns, such as lighting and complimentary water, but we think that first two concerns are completely personal and we respect them of course. But last two concerns are entirely not true;

-Internet connection; All of our rooms, restaurants, terraces and reception (means whole hotel) has got free wifi (high speed) internet connection.
-Dining; Museum Hotel has got one of the best alacarte restaurant of the Cappadocia region, named Lil’a. We have the largest alacarte menu of the area (with 65 dishes from Cappadocian Cuisine!) and all served by Museum Hotel’s international award-winning chefs. We already have lots of reviews about it too. Sorry but “Limited dining option” can’t be real!

Thank you.
Museum Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1 Uchisar, Nevsehir | Cappadocia, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm.Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual ‘living museum’ concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia—just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.