We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Balloons

Discovery Balloons
Yukari Mah. Aksoy Sok. No:15, Uchisar 50180, Turkey
+90 384 214 23 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 9 Attractions in Uchisar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Cappadocia! Here in Cappadocia we can fly within the valleys and around the fairy chimneys, very close to the ground and up to2.000 ft altitute. The flights are so perfect, one would think that the balloon actually had steering facilities.
1 review
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Our ride was in early November. Out of about 100 balloons lifting off that day we were the very first, so the first twenty minutes or so were in semi darkness - useless for photography. Moreover, there were 28 of us crammed into the basket like sardines. On the plus side. the balloon did turn frequently in flight to ease photography from all angles, and made a perfect landing on the trailer of the retrieve vehicle. Amazing! My tips would be:-
a) Book it yourself - don't leave it to the tour company
b) Go for the smallest balloon possible. Ours was a massive 500,000 cu.ft. Some of the other balloon companies have smaller balloons of 250,000 cu.ft
c) Go for a company where you can witness the inflation and which lifts off in near daylight (the light was perfect after we landed!).
d) Leave your bag behind - there's no room for it in the basket,

All in all, I would not recommend this company

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“It was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

The balloontour was very beautiful! We had the best balloondriver, Kemal :)
It was one of the most perfect things, i ever did..:)

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

i was happy in the sky i could see the mysterious and beautiful sky. it is thanks to the balloon driver that enabled kemal right to have a happy time in cappadocia sky

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Balloon Fields of Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Discover Balloons was the most memorable part of my 8 days in Turkey. We awoke early in the morning to take a mini van ride to the balloon fields. We were given warm drinks and a pastry. We boarded the balloon (20 persons) and were given directions for landing position. We rose high enough to see the magnificent hills and historic carved caves of Goreme. The ride lasted for a beautiful majestic hour of scenery. Upon landing we were given flight certificates and a champagne toast and options to buy photos and film of the ride. Crew was nice. Bring a warm sweater or jacket because it does get nippy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A magnificent and memorable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you go to Cappadocia, hot air ballooning is a must activity, There are many hot air balloon companies in Cappadocia and our tour guild chosed Discovery Balloons. The balloon company picked us at 4:30 am at our hotel. After 15 min bus ride, we reached the launching site with dozens colourful hot air balloons launching. The pilot was Umit Ertosun, a young turkish man, he was so skillful to drive and manage the balloon that you even did not notice the balloon was in the air, it was so stable and safe. The views from the balloon were so impressive, esp the morning sun rising in front of you. Every passenger was so enjoyable and all took hundreds of fantastic photos.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Balloons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.