We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Favorite restaurant in Cappadochia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Memories

House of Memories
Eski Goreme Yolu Uzeri. No : 41, Uchisar, Turkey
+90 535 761 6720+90 535 761 6720
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Uchisar
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fantastic local fare at very reasonable prices.excellent indoor space, here all natural appearance sahip.muhteşe terraces times and still fabulous fairy chimneys, pigeon loft wadie the Erciyes Mountain overlooking a decent ortam.ayrı by the oriental corner and tea house also mevcut.mükemmel with a staff of excellent flavor the local cuisine.      "You will not leave here" ...
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience! Favorite restaurant in Cappadochia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

While it may appear to be a simple restaurant named with a cliche, don't judge a book by its cover. This restaurant in my opinion was amazing for a number of reasons... The owner is a terrific and entertaining character who can converse in a number of languages; a hilarious person. The food was very good and reasonably price. The restaurant has a number of rooms, you can sit in a restaurant with table and chairs, you can sit upstairs on the covered porch, or have a traditional turkish dinner in their cave room. While Elai up the street has more haute cuisine, House of Memories trumps them on service, kindness, entertainment, and the turkish dining experience. I urge you to visit House of Memories for a great time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheerful but not so cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a roadside cafe run by a great character. The food is Turkish kebabs etc. Not bad but not haute cuisine either. It seemed a little on the pricey side to us for what it was, but not too bad. Overall it is quite a pleasant place for a meal if you want to eat alaturka.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“great crazy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

had lunch on cold spring day. having read reviews, i considered going here, and upon stopping in front of the place, the owner invited us to ' I have warm place for you' inside. not easily recognizable from the exterior...the first impression outside is not very inviting, disorderly, chaotic. the inside, cave style, interior is carpets and cushions, no chairs...so its sitting on the cushions,which might be problematic for elderly disabled guests. the owner is a very special person, comes in singing, which can be confusing and intimidating at first. (my wife was not happy with my choice,when we sat down...). But after ordering, we got fresh baked turkish bread, and the meal, grilled lamb chops and kofte with rice,fries and salad was of very decent quallity and tasty at very reasonable prices, 15 lira average.The owner is indeed very entertaining without getting obtrusive, and is friendly and funny and above all, genuine. My wife eventually left the restaurant happy and admitted that it was a very nice place....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great authentic local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Food is great, amazing setting and extremely friendly service.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We came to the House of Memories after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and perhaps had the best night of our 21 day trip. The owner and his staff entertained us and kept us well fed all night long. From dancing to singing and playing various instruments we laughed all night long!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Memories also viewed

Uchisar, Cappadocia
 
Uchisar, Cappadocia
Uchisar, Cappadocia
 

Been to House of Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.