We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in Uçhisar at Kale Konak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kale Konak Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Kale Konak Cave Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Uçhisar at Kale Konak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed for five nights and really didn't want to leave. Kale Konak is a beautifully restored collection of three traditional houses, connected by tunnels, with spacious, comfortable rooms. You can wander up and down stairs and hallways to explore the hotel and it's labyrinth of rooms, many spaces to relax, and terraces with views across the valley.

I was the only guest the first night, (the joy of traveling off-season), and was given a suite with an amazing barrel-vaulted bedroom. It couldn't have been more comfortable.

Baths are modern and spacious; rooms are stocked with lots of bottled water, teas, and snacks, all without charge.

The breakfast is fresh, very tasty and plentiful, and is served whenever, no set schedules to rush to eat. I had dinner at the hotel one night; the food and wine were superb, and the dining room is yet another wonderful space to experience in the hotel.

There also a beautiful, private hamman tucked away in the lowest level, available to use 24/7. This is not some small room, but, as with the rest of the hotel, a lovely, beautiful designed series of rooms and spaces.

But the best perk of all are the staff. I've never been made more welcome or felt better taken care of in any place I've stayed anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms are very varied. I would try to contact the management prior to arrival for a suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
88
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We finished our wonderful three week trip to Turkey with four nights at Kale Konak and were thrilled. Even after all those days I wasn't certain I had seen all of the hidden sitting areas. Our room was particularly nice - a suite. The owner, Abdullah, was incredibly helpful, including arranging for someone to drive our rental car - and us - to the airport at 4:30 a.m. At the end of a long day of sight seeing it was so relaxing to sit on the terrace with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This was the most unexpected pleasure during our trip to Cappadocia. We had wanted to stay at the CCR or Museum Hotel but they were sold out. Booked at the Kale Konak as a backup recommended by a day guide. We were so pleased. The owner was gracious and welcoming. The accommodations are authentic looking and pretty. We only were able to stay one night but our breakfast at the Kale Konak, on the terrace overlooking the landscape, was by far the best breakfast we had during our 14 day vacation. The view is beautiful and the location -- at the top of the hill, across from the castle, was fantastic. Got up early to take pictures of the balloons traveling across the valley. The small scale of this hotel and the beautiful design makes it more appealing.

Room Tip: The cave room above the Hamam is gorgeous and runs warm during the cold weather. If you like a colde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Cappadocia was a magical, almost surreal experience for me. And this little gem of a B &B added to the experience.

Although checking in was a problem in the beginning, as we (group of 7 hungry and tired people) had arrived early, we got it sorted out soon enough and was given an unconventioned solution- 1 room and 7 towels.
I know this sounds bizarre, but as they didn't have our rooms ready till noon, this was the best solution given to us. We all took turns in the shower and then went down to breakfast. We were famished the the breakfast was delicious! It fueled our tired bodies and rejuvenated our spirits! The apple tea was superb and we all had several cups each! The food too was fresh and everything tasted wonderful!

The staff were very nice, except for the fact that they didn't speak English (save one), but this was back in 2008, and I hear things have gotten more commercial in Cappadocia, so maybe they've employed more English speaking staff since.
They have lovely rooms, with comfortable beds and everything was very clean, which is wonderful!
They also have a labyrinth of caves to explore where you come across some interesting room or the other (like a living room of sorts where they had a TV (the TV looked slightly incongruous in the setting, which otherwise has a very old-world, arabian nights air to it!)

There was also a wonderful family run restaurant very close to this place which served the best teste kebabs I've ever eaten!

Kale Konak made my trip to Turkey absolutely magical.

I want to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Today we checked out of the Kale Konak Hotel after three wonderful nights . It is indeed a little gem of 15 bedrooms created from three restored cave houses .

We were so well looked after by the team headed up by the Owner / Manager Abdullah - he made sure we were well taken care of throughout our stay - nothing was a problem at all with excellent service from all the staff - one of particular note was Memhet who seemed to be helping in all areas at most times - a delightful gentleman .

The boutique hotel, which has a very homely and comfortable style is delightfully furnished with wonderful antiques of the area - there are just so many interesting pieces throughout the little hotel . The batihrooms are modern yet still in the style of the hotel decor.

On two of the three nigths, we ate in the cave dining room beside and open wood fire - a delightful evening on both occasions .

Free Wi Fi was available in all the pubic areas and with excellent connection - this is something is important for me on my travels.

I would highly recommend the Kale Konak to travellers visiting Cappadocia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

As the other reviewers say, this is the kind of hotel that you want to go back to. I support all the excellent comments about the warm and friendly welcome, the fine management and staffing, the food and the wine. Views are magnificent and the hotel is just metres away from Uchisar Castle.
Our superbly efficient travel agency, Argeus Tours, (Urgup) booked us into this hotel. They also arranged our balloon flight with Kapadokya Balloons, the first and foremost ballooning company there, and a three day tour with a highly intelligent and very well-educated guide and very safe driver.
Not only was the Cappadocia stay the highlight of our holiday in Turkey, it was one of the highlights of my life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Kale Konak is a 15 room small hotel with wonderful "cave rooms" at the Castle in Uchisar (Cappadocia). Owner/Manager Abdullah is fantastic, providing personal service for our every request for our entire four night stay. In fact, the entire staff was outstanding. Prices are very reasonable. Hotel has been renovated recently and is clean, well furnished, and very comfortable. There are many sitting/reading areas within the hotel itself and a two level garden with tables for lounging, drinking and breakfast. Food was always fresh. Abdullah knows his wines - trust his judgement. Turkish wines are quite good if you pick the right ones. Abdullah has a daily dinner menu for those who want to eat at the hotel - only one choice each night. The lamb dishes are excellent. There are at least two excellent restaurants within a couple of hundred meters of the hotel (Abdullah will advise and make reservations). Hotel has Wi-Fi in several areas - but you probably will not get service in a cave room two stories down. A definite repeat for us. BTW - late September/early October is an ideal time to go -- after the summer tourist season and before most of the area closes down in November. Oh, yes, don't miss the balloon ride. Make reservations with Butterfly Balloons directly rather then through a agent. If possible, ask for Captain Mike (their chief captain).

Room Tip: We had Room 11 which was a family suite. Did not ask for it but got it upon check in. Lowest level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kale Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Address: Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kale Konak Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kale Konak welcomes its guests in a typical Turkish mansion with cave and old stoned rooms dating back to the first centuries that has been totally and tastefully renovated while maintaining its original charm and elegance. Kale Konak is situated just next to the Uchisar Castle from where you can appreciate a breathtaking view of the entire Cappadocia and the Argeus Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kale Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kale Konak Hotel Uchisar
Kale Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kale Konak Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.