We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argos In Cappadocia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Argos In Cappadocia to your Saves list
Argos In Cappadocia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uchisar Mevki, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
Jurancon, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Magical hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is incredible the views beyond spectacular ! The service warm efficient and non invasive a very important point for me we were lucky enough to have a working fireplace and in late autumn we used it! The bathroom was larger than my first apartment beautifully detailed.
The amenities in the rooms very nice I loved the turkish coffee machine :))
My only complaint is that the beds were all very uncomfortable. a hotel of this caliber really should have better mattresses. We had three rooms and all beds were so hard no one slept well at all.

The restaurant was much better than we expected the service friendly and competent . The wines were somewhat overpriced by Turkish standards but the selection was very good.
The breakfast was incredible everything you could imagine
The early breakfast bag to go was a nice touch for those going early to balloon rides or off for the day before 7 am

I would return but would ask before if different mattresses were available REALLY! Be sure to book with an agent the rates we paid were much better than what they quoted us privately and that was a surprise!

If the beds had been comfortable I would have given a perfect score!

Room Tip: If you have walking issues or are handicapped check to see if there are rooms all on one level many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    62
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
92
258
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Argos. The service was excellent, the rooms wonderful and the food superb. Below is a bit of a breakdown.

This property is clearly a labor of love by the owner. The restoration of rooms and buildings, the wonderful tunnels, the wine cellar and the conference room are extraordinarily special. The collections of artifacts in the public spaces and even in the rooms makes you feel that you are living history and not just staying in a hotel.

The included breakfast was a wonderful buffet and dinners were extremely reasonably priced and also very high quality. The restaurant staff go above and beyond to make your meals special.

I did have the pleasure of staying in a Splendid Suite, and the combination of the pool and fireplace made for a wonderful opportunity to unwind at the end of a day of touring.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel was by far one of the best boutique hotels that I have stayed at! Merve who manages the show is such a warm and friendly person and the entire staff of the hotel embrace the same qualities that the hotel wants us to experience.

The rooms did have a bit of dust, but hey, we are living in a cave after all!! All though we did miss the sound system in the room that was mentioned as included in our booking.

The view from the hotel was simply magnificent, with one hot air balloon coming really close! Ask Merve for a tour of the hotel, there is so much history behind it and it is very interesting to know that the owner wants to make part of the hotel a museum to display ancient stones of the area, cooking utensils used 1000's of years ago, etc.

The breakfast spread included in the room rate had a splendid spread. From cheese, to cold cuts, eggs in whichever way you like, to pastries, etc.

The decor of the hotel uses old restored pieces with modern contemporary designs. The staff response are very prompt and satisfying. This gives you the feel that you could be sitting in the luxury of your own home!

You must definitely keep one day to enjoy the hotel without any sight seeing.

Room Tip: Check for the rooms with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The pictures of Argos make you wonder if the place really can live up to them. Well, the pictures don´t lie. The hotel looks like nothing you´ve seen before and is beautifully built in the hillside. The lounge area and restaurant offer a lovely view of the Pigeon valley. We stayed four nights in splendid suite 3304 which is a cave with a private pool. The room is spacious and the decor is simple and beautiful. So is the bathroom and the heated towel rack was a nice detail. Be aware that this particular suite is a cave with now windows overlooking the valley. Two chairs are placed on a small platform outside the room and when sitting here you can enjoy a more private view of the scenery.

The food has a homemade touch and taste and everything we had either in the restaurant or ordered to our room was truly delicious. If I should give Argos one tip; put a "today´s" on the menu too. When you stay here for more than two nights, the menu does seem familiar on night three.

We stayed here over Eid, so the hotel was fully booked and the staff was really not up to speed handling all the guests. We had to ask more than one time before a glass of water or an espresso would turn up. One would think that a hotel like Argos have trained their staff to handle what is every hotel owners dream, a fully booked hotel.

The Cappadoccia region has a unique landscape and is really worth putting on your list of places to see and Argos does add to a spectacular and unforgettable travel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Argos in Cappadocia in a suite. First the positives - This is one very cool hotel. I had requested a room with a terrace, and we were given an enormous suite with a private hamam and a large private balcony. While not exactly a cave room, the room still felt quite rustic. We loved the quality of the finishings and fixtures as well. Even though the hotel is a wonderfully restored property, it has a modern aesthetic, with simple bed linens and drapes and lovely unstained wood trim. We also loved having our own private hamam, in addition to the regular bathroom.

The public spaces of the hotel are numerous and all beautiful, very welcoming and comfortable with sweeping views of Pigeon Valley. We ate breakfasts and dinners at the hotel and found the service and the food excellent.

Now the negatives - While the concierge was very accommodating before our arrival in helping to coordinate a few activities like ballooning, we did have some minor glitches in service during the stay itself. I had asked specifically for a private transfer on our arrival but we were booked into a group transfer. Also, we received a wake-up call by accident one morning at 5am that was obviously meant for somebody else. Perhaps the most annoying was that we had requested a late check-out and reconfirmed it the night before our departure. However, on our departure day around noon we received a call to our room informing us, in a rather hurried way, that check-out was noon and we were expected to be out there ASAP. We had no choice but to jump in the shower and throw our things into our luggage to clear out of the room. When I questioned them why they had told us we could have a late check-out when we couldn't, they were rather at a loss to explain and mumbled something about having taken a last-minute booking. It was clumsily handled by the front desk staff. We ended up sitting around their library and on the terrace, reading and surfing the internet. So while their service is welcoming, it's somewhat unpolished, even bordering on the unprofessional, considering the cost of the room (in our case 400 Euro/night).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to my friends because of its gorgeous facilities and location but with the caveat that you may need to be patient with the front desk service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a terrace. It's amazing to wake up and sit on the private terrace to watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ive stayed at many a hotel, this is considerably my favourite!

As your transport service takes a narrow detour, down a somehwat steep hill, you wonder where you are headed to in this somewhat barren town.

you notice no hotel, just markings and beautiful mushroom hills scattered in thousands accross the view. Simply breathtaking.

you driver stops outside the reception, you get off, walking towards the reception only being guided by the signage. inside a beautifully quaint lodge type room. To the left is the reception desk, to the right a brewing fire and a table with novelty books and a tray of turkish delight... but you walk straight ahead, where the walls are lines with cushioned seating leading you to look at the beautiful view once more. the air has a different scent, one pure but filled with a soft scent of log fire and thatch which was used to build the rooms.

you will notice that that there is no hotel, the concierge will tell you that the owner slowly purchased this entire street, converting the homes into hotels. As you walk from the reception, to your room accross the pebble street you'll be guided to one of the wooden doors which marks the area you'll be in. the wooden doors are not locked, you simply push the old door open and feel as though you are in a new world, its like a little village homestead in here, there may be sipping pools, communal fire area's; ponds; benches etc... all the rooms in this little village enclosure are on different gradients, having different steps which creates a semi-maze effect.

the rooms are beautiful. Full of windows and so spacious. it feels like a cabin, having your own log fire which can be lighted by reception if you would like. the rooms and bathroom have the same spectacular view, built withh juist enough co-ordination so you can see out but they wont see you. the bathroom has its own unique style, easily 20metres squared - a hidden shower larger than most, a beautiful big mirror overhangs the basin with hollywood lighting to allow you to bask in your beauty as your face forms a picture perfect portrait with the combined refelction of the mushroom hilltops... you will be treated to as assortment of luxurious molton brown toiletries.. for your comfort theres a bamboo cushion on the floor, some wheat flowers beside and a reclining cushion bed in the bathroom.

Breakfast is in another area, down below the reception. you do need to be able to walk up and down steps readily. you ar served an assortment of cheese's, salamis and breads. your glass will be filled with a juice of your choice and any warm drink you require. there are freshly baked goodies- you'll be lucky is you get the delicious orange blossom cake. scrumptuous. theres also a beautifully cut fruit platter for you to enjoy. other hott meals are free to be ordered.

we enjoyed dinner here once. unbelievably amazing pudding assortment. not a bite was left unsavoured. the mains are standard but beautifully decorated. indeed a romantic atmosphere in the evenings. serbvice is impecable with all waitrons waiting to fulfill your every desire.

Id stay here in a heartbeat! you will love it to.

theres a beautiful, slender concierge - she will teach you all about this hotels heritage and book any outings you are interested in.i would deffinately suggest a traditional meal and dance show and also the hott air ballon ride, its something you'll never forget.

if you are blessed to stay at this hotel, do look onto the mountains and make a wish that i can return to the beautiful Cappadocia once again

Room Tip: choose a room higher up for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Cappadocia is just wonderful. A really unusual place to visit with a perfect mix of natural phenomena, such as the fairy chimneys and beautiful valleys, and strange underground cities and cave dwellings which give real insight into the way of life in this part of Turkey over the last few thousand years.

The Argos in Cappadocia was a good base for us and we were pleased to be staying in Uchisar rather than busier and more touristy Goreme. The views from the hotel were wonderful particularly early in the morning with the hot air balloons rising in sillouete with the snowy volcano behind. The best part of our visit was a hot air balloon ride organised efficiently by the hotel. The breakfasts were outstanding, excellent service and good food. The lounge bar is also a great spot to sit in front of the fire with a glass of wine after a long walk. The walks around the hotel are great, Pigeon Valley, Love Valley and Rose Valley are all close by and stunning.

Overall, however, we felt the hotel misguided us in its advertisements and website. Far from being a top hotel, we felt more like we were roughing it! We booked a deluxe room and asked to change rooms when we arrived because it didn't have a cave and seemed very small compared to what we had seen online. The staff were gracious and showed us two other deluxe rooms, both of which were equally disappointing in some way, either very dark or too small or no view. In the end we chose a small room with a large cave bathroom so we could have the cave experience!

The rooms are not air conditioned and were absolutely boiling - I can't imagine what they must be like in the summer. We had to sleep with the windows open and this meant we were woken up early by guests talking below our room and building work. The whole place was a bit of a building site and certainly had an off-season feel.

We also felt the customer service was lacking somewhat. We had a great tour of the hotel but when we needed advice, we felt like they were just pushing us towards getting an expensive all day tour rather than listening to what we actually wanted.

I would highly recommend this area but not this hotel at their current rates. This was supposed to be the highlight hotel of our honeymoon and it definitely did not live up to expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Argos In Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos In Cappadocia

Address: Uchisar Mevki, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos In Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 53 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... Argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Argos In Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argos In Cappadocia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.