We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star accommodation in one of the most amazing places in Cappadocia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Argos In Cappadocia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Argos In Cappadocia to your Saves list
Argos In Cappadocia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uchisar Mevki, Uchisar 50240, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Uchisar
Sydney
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“5 star accommodation in one of the most amazing places in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We arranged a private car pick-up through the hotel from Kayseri airport for €85 ($100) which is good value for an 80km transfer. At the end of our stay we took the shuttle bus from the Argos which was 40TL ($25) for the two of us. It takes about 30 minutes longer but you get a great tour on the way! Our only negative was the check-in procedure which was rushed and unwelcoming - unfortunately Merve who takes care of customer relations was otherwise engaged. Our suite was fabulous and that included the bathroom. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was excellent along with an impressive and affordable wine list. Breakfast was very good as long as you appreciate that not all the wait staff speak perfect English. The "must do" hot air balloon trip with Royal was arranged by the hotel - same price as booking direct. We went for one and half hours which takes you hovering just metres above the Uchisar hotels and the castle. Shorter trip drops you in the valley so glad we spent the extra. Another must do is the hotel tour with Merve - you'll appreciate just what a fantastic concept this place is. The wine cellar is absolutely superb! The walk to Goreme through Pigeon Valley is also excellent but easy to get lost at the start. Best to walk down the road past the Museum Hotel until you see the Pigeon Posts at the start of the path then go straight on, not up the slope on the right, and past the tea house. It's steep and slippy in places so wear good shoes - scenery outstanding. For an evening meal out go to Top Deck in Goreme - a real Turkish experience run by a delightful family but take a taxi as hard to find. Argos is amazing and our 3 nights here were just delightful. It's contemporary, interesting and unique.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    62
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
92
258
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

In September 6 of us stayed at the Argos in Cappadocia for two nights. We fly in from Antalya and landed in the middle of the night.We were driven through to the Hotel so we arrived very late. Reception was waiting for us and we were all shown to our rooms. Very interesting layout,some of the rooms are in a cave like place, some have balconies looking over the most unbelievable sights you will ever see, some rooms have very tiny windows and no outlook at all. Our room was down some steps under a room that had an outside balcony, while the room was very very interesting, it was basically a cave with the original walls in place. The shower/toilet was up some quite steep stairs. The only thing was that the walls crumbled and I left my suitcase open to find the next morning it was filled with sand. The bed unfortunately also filled with sand and the room was quite cold which I guess in the heat of summer could be a welcome situation. If you do not like maneuvering up steep stairs (elderly people) for showering etc and you are not to fussed about a little bit of the ceiling being in your bed or in your case or as you walk across the floor then these rooms are perfect for you. I would have preferred the room with a view quite honestly but as we were there for two days only, we did not ask to be moved. The area is quite spectacular and the rest of the Hotel certainly was very unusual. Some of our group went up in the hot air balloons and said it was one of the highlights of the whole trip. Worth visiting !!!

Room Tip: Choose your room if you can. Front facing with a view of the valley is in my opinion essential .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visiting Cappadocia & staying in a cave hotel has been one of my dreams for the longest time. I am happy to say that my dreams were fulfilled. I travelled in September 2010.

The Cave hotel was truly boutique - I am sad that I didn't have more time there. Away from bustling Goreme, perched up on the hill, Argos gave a sweeping view of the valley from its luscious terrace. The flowers and little water features added to the ambience.
My dad did not join us on the hot air balloon tour, but gave a glowing report of the view from the breakfast room as the sun rose, along with the balloons. He did not know much about Cappadocia and was dragged along by me, but he thought it the most out-of-the-world fantastic experiences he'd ever had (and he has travelled a lot).

The rooms we had were spacious and comfortable - the decor and design and fittings outstanding.
However, one of the rooms felt damp and musky, while the other one was pretty much perfect. They were in different parts of the hotel. So be aware of this!

Food was good. Coming off the plane from a very spartan airport (& waiting in the street outside the airport for 2 hours, to meet with one of our other companions arriving on a different flight), to be ushered into the luxury of Argos, and fed an amazing meal, was just pure bliss.

We also walked up the hill & explored the nearby caves, and visited the little town at the top of the hill. Totally awesome.

Room Tip: some rooms may smell a bit damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Argos sits amongst the stunning views and caves of Capadoccia. The hotel and location are top notch, capturing the history and beauty of the region. From the sincere welcome, to the delicious food and incredibly friendly staff, we found a slice of heaven. This boutique hotel is worth the money.

Room Tip: Note: the rooms do not have TVs, and you can ask for an iPod dock. Because the hotel is situated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is beautiful and sophisticated. You can tell a lot of thought went into its design... reminds me of Napa Valley... country chic feel with amazing views of Cappadocia! We got a great deal on Jetsetter but i would have gladly paid more to stay there. Breakfast was included and very delicious and consisting of the freshest ingredients. The lounge food was just okay. Only downside is the incredibly loud minaret outside that went off both nights at around 5:30am. Nevertheless I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights in Argos in Cappacodia, it was part of our 10 day visit to Turkey. The minute we arrived me knew we made the right hotel selection, the reception area and staff had a very warm and welcoming vibe. After checking in we were guided to our room immediately (since the hotel structure is not traditional). The room was very clean, yet preserved the unique cave like ambiance. Throughout our stay the service was impeccable. The food in the restaurant was not only very good, but most of it was gown in the hotel's garden. The hotel tour given by the guest relations staff was phenomenal, they told us all about the history and future projects for the hotel. Would definitely go back, its one of the best hotels we've visited.

Room Tip: If you can, try to get a suite with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent three nights there and loved the place. It is perfectly located if you want to hiking, exploring, but not admist all other hotels so it feels like you are part of the village. The hotel is done with a love for detail and ensuring it fits into the landscape. Wonderful staff and we really enjoyed the breakfast as well. Rooms are great and well thought out.

Room Tip: Do not get room 3017 (I think it was) the ventilation is terrible and it was extremely stuffy making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Argos In Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos In Cappadocia

Address: Uchisar Mevki, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos In Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 53 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... Argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Argos In Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Turkey - Uchisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argos In Cappadocia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.