We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique cave boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hezen Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Hezen Cave Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ortahisar
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Unique cave boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hezen 2 weeks ago. We did not know what to expect since this was the 1st time we would be staying at a cave hotel.

We loved everything about the hotel, from the the design of the reception area and the design of all their rooms. A boutique hotel in Capadoccia with french flare.

we met the owners of the hotel as well as they run a small carpet shop downtown in urgup.

breakfast was good with a very nice view by the terrace.

if you are staying at the hotel and need a place to eat for dinner, their recommended restaurant served really good lamb stew and rice filled cabbage rolls. REALLY GOOD AND A MUST TRY. the restaurant is situated on a Cliff overlooking the rock formations.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: ask about their suites. they are adding new rooms (big suites) on an area right beside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your great feedback. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your family. We really hope you can make it again to Turkey and Cappadocia.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
149
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband, my sister and her husband and I stayed the the Hezen Cave Hotel the end of September. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms really were caves and the decoration was very Ottoman. The hotel staff was superb, they went out of their way to help us and offered free shuttle service to Urgup. Breakfast on the terrace was breathtaking and after a long day of sightseeing, drinks (including their fantastic apple tea) on the terrace was a great way to relax. They do not serve dinner at the hotel and recommended a local family restaurant within walking distance and even though we were the only customers, it was one of our best meals in Turkey. The hotel was spotless and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. It really is a unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and really hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at Hezen Cave Hotel and everything about it is beautiful. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are all styled differently but look stunning. There are products already in the bathrooms for use and the breakfast each morning is extremely varied and probably the best around. Beautiful views and great little valleys to explore. The only problem is the town is very small and quiet it is not made for tourists, which i loved but is a few kilometers from Goreme and the main tourists areas.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the bottom of the hotel that have a few stairs to reach them, so may be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Bernie,
Thank you for your feedback. We were very happy to having you at Hezen Cave Hotel and hope to see you soon in Cappadocia.
Kind regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved this hotel. It's a little out of the way so not good if you want to be able to walk to Goreme but in every other respect it's perfect. The rooms are stunning, set into the cave, quirky decor, comfortable beds. The view from the terrace is supurb. The staff couldn't be more helpful, breakfast was yummy as were our sunset wines and olives. Make sure you book well in advance, we would have liked to stay another night but they were booked out and the next hotel wasn't nearly so good, despite costing almost as much!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not have a room above - the floors are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Kind regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is above and beyond expectations from the beautiful decorating, lovely views of the town, warm and cozy rooms, exceptional cleanliness and amazing homemade breakfasts. But the best thing about it is the service - every person we met went out of their way to help, they arranged shuttles, tours, meals, drivers and all of their recommendations were excellent. All the staff was very genuine and friendly. One of the best hotel experiences I've had in any country!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much - your review made us very happy! We are very pleased to see our guests happy and always try to improve their experiences.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

You will immediately feel at home here. The staff go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you desire. The setting is unparalleled below the castle. The hotel is positioned just far enough to be incredibly genuine and peaceful, yet close enough to get to the main attractions. You will find it very hard to pull yourself away from the beautiful terraces dotted around the property. I only wish I'd booked more nights here. Try it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to see that you've appreciate your stay and felt like at home! We look forward to meeting you again in Cappadocia.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I found this hotel in Internet I felt in love right away. I thought, if is half as good as what I'm seeing and reading it will be perfect...
I made a reservation and from the first response that I got from Nil I was pretty sure it would be a great experience.
We've been there last september with my husband and son. Everything exceed our expectations by far!!!!
The hotel is so beatiful, breakfast, room, the terraces, the view, and the staff that is always there to make you feel at home.
A word apart for Nil. She is much more than an excelent manager, she seems to be the owner. She arranged everything for us, the taxi, the balloon ride, the restaurants, everything was so perfect!!!!.
And finally, we were lucky enough to meet the owners, and it was a delightful experience.
Cappadoccia is a very special place, unique and enchanting, and Hezen Cave Hotel is THE PLACE to stay.
Thank you Nil!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. It made us very happy to see that you loved Hezen Cave Hotel as much as we do too!! We really hope you and your family could come back in the near future to Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hezen Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.