We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the heart of Cappadocia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AlKaBriS

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ortahisar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AlKaBriS
Save
You added AlKaBriS to your Saves list
P.K. 3, Ortahisar, Turkey   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Ortahisar B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“the heart of Cappadocia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The best hotel you can find to feel yourself in the heart of Cappadocia. Cosy, pretty, comfortable, inspiring views. Excellent food. My best regards to the warmth of the hosts: Sait and Kamer)))))))) Hope to come back*

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ortahisar is off the beaten track - the tourists who turn up tend to arrive in buses, spend a couple of hours mooching around the souvenir shops and visiting the museum, then leaving again. To stay here in the evenings is to experience the real Cappadocia, and Alkabris is one of just a handful of hotels here. Sait and Camer are wonderfully attentive hosts and their cooking is terrific. Bread and cakes are baked on the premises, breakfast jams are homemade, and the meals they provided in the evenings were the best we had in Cappadocia. Camer's artistic eye shows in the attention to detail in the rooms and her mosaics feature in the nooks and crannies of comfortable caves. Sait speaks excellent French, English is more difficult, but you will feel at home even if all you speak is Inuit. This hotel is for classy would-be troglodytes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Beautiful view, delicious food, homemade jams and bread...
Rooms decorated with a combination of fine taste and simplicity...
Regional wine with the lovely conversation of Mr. and Mrs. Kazuk...
To have clear and satisfactory answers to each question...
Alkabris...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just spent three nights at the lovely AlKaBriS. The owners Sait and Kamere (sp?) were incredibly gracious and looked after our every need. The hotel is a work of art - literally. Lovingly restored and situated partly in caves carved into rock, it sits atop a small canyon that should be a museum do to the hundreds of rock caves below. The rooms and food were exquisite and most of the delightful mosaics were done by Kamere herself. Sait and Kamere are true professionals and made this stay incredibly pleasant. (Sorry for all the superlatives but this place is really special).

This place is perfect if you like quiet, peaceful, beautiful. Every room is a work of art. The village of Ortahisar is rustic and absolutely overflowing with old world charm. Goreme is ten just ten minutes away so it is easy to get to all the best attractions in Cappodoccia.

Things to watch out for:

- It is a bit hard to find. Follow the signs they have posted. It's worth it!
- They have a really cool German Shepherd named Muzhik (sp). She is really a great dog, but if you're not into dogs then this might not be the place for you.
- Our guidebook said the only negative was that the owners (Sait and Kamere) don't speak english very well (Sait used to be a professional tour guide and is fluent in French - FYI). We didn't find their rudimentary English to be a problem at all. Sait only had to get out his dictionary once!

Truly a wonderful experience and one of the highlights of our month-long trip to Turkey. Hats off to Sait and Kamere for creating a completely unique experience. We loved it.

Room Tip: They only have five rooms. All are great. I think two are suites, which we didn't stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Everything was so calm and comforting . Two or three most hospitable persons, i've seen in years, this place's owners are . Ortahisar is a standard village . Nice stone buildings all over the place. Overall villagers everywhere . But most of hotels are being ran by people who want quiet and calm, 'do not touch ! ' . This hotel is the best one there is, i think . If you are a traveler, this place would be one of the unique place, you'll see . I reccomend this hotel and village again and again .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Alkabris was the most beautiful jewel in the middle of Ortahisar. The authentic rooms coupled together with the delicious homemade food made this one of the most memorable places I have ever stayed. The couple that runs the place and the little details were the icing on the cake. Alkabris is a place that turned a tedious and boring business trip to an enjoyable and fun one. I strongly advise everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Alkabriz is a unique hotel to stay !!
The site has a quiet and good location ,with terraces just in face of Ortahisar castle, close to the most interesting spots of this land. We enjoyed the rooms furnished with taste and class, bathrooms are new,warm and well equipped.
The owners make you feel at home, with kind attention and regard to your needs.
Food is first quality, first class selection of traditional turkish dishes, and so is breakfast.
We recommand this hotel for your stay in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlKaBriS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlKaBriS

Address: P.K. 3, Ortahisar, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlKaBriS is a cave hotel located in Ortahisar in the center of Cappadocia. AlKaBriS has 5 rooms, 2 of which are suite rooms, and the restaurant where special meals and breads are prepared by the owner. The panorama from the terrace is marvelous: Mount Erciyes, old Ortahisar ruins and the castle. Decoration of the hotel is based heavily on Roman-Byzantine mosaics reproduced by Mrs Kamer Kazuk who is one of the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AlKaBriS Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlKaBriS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.