We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars? You've got to be kidding!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dedeman Kapadokya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dedeman Kapadokya to your Saves list
Dedeman Kapadokya
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urgup Yolu 2 Km, Nevsehir 50200, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Nevsehir
new york
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“5 Stars? You've got to be kidding!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed as part of a tour and, like an earlier rater, came from a Dedeman Hotel in Konya which was quite nice. This place, however, is horrible and I would not stay here if you have any choice whatsoever. First of all, the hallways are dimly lit and poorly maintained. Somone should invest in a coat of a brightly colored paint and some lights.

The maintenance left much to be desired. There was a broken bed in the hallway when we got there and when we left. Apparently, no one thought enough of such an eyesore to remove it. That assumes they even knew it was there. Similarly, the lift/elevator broke shortly after we arrived and that too was not rectified during our entire stay. People had to climb up to 7 flights of stairs throughout their stay.

The worse part of our stay was the rooms. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, and I mean everything, from the accompanying rooms. Paint, which appears to be an unheard of commodity here, was peeling from the walls. Most annoying, however, was this constant dripping noise coming from inside the walls, a noise that closely resembled Chinese water torture.

The television in the room was indicative of the lack of updating. While every hotel we stayed at had flatscreens, this hotel had televisions that were over a decade old, were difficult to operate and belonged more in a museum than a tourist hotel. Nor was the furniture any better as it resembled something you would see at a garage sale - worn with scratch marks and other signs of having seen better days. Finally, the carpet was worn and in desperate need of replacement.

As to the dining room, the omlette person spoke little English, did not know the meaning of egg whites and seemed incapable of cooking anything that didn't float in large doses of oil.

In light of all the other places you can stay in this region, I would go someplace else. If this place is a 5 star hotel, I shudder to think what a 4 or a 3 star place looks like. Shame on Insight Vacations for picking such a hotel for its travelling customers.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear theboneNewYork
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your less than enjoyable experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay with us, we do take each and every Guest/s comments very seriously and we can assure that the appropriate measure have been in place in order to avoid a re-occurrence of this sort.
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.
Kind Regards,

İ Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    63
    116
    49
    27
See reviews for
43
75
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Gate 1 Tour. The hotel is located outside of town and away from the action, but has its own indoor and outdoor swimming pools, beautifully decorated lounge, an awesome dinner buffet and good breakfast buffet served poolside. Gate 1 tour was a portion of our extensive honeymoon trip, so management provided us with a bottle of tasty Turkish Champagne and a small cake, as well as an upgrade to a corner suite. The bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed having a couch in the room. Everything worked well in our room.

Some of our group signed up for the balloon ride and we had a perfect view of the balloons the next morning. We didn't sign up for the five am wake up to ride the balloons (we're on our honeymoon) but our friends that did ride the balloons said it was a highlight. The geology around the hotel area is fascinating and worth a full day of touring. Our only regret was the hotel was so far out, and the nearby town looked like a fun place to stroll around.

Room Tip: Corner suite on the front of the hotel facing east has the best view of the balloons, sunset and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear dkayrenick
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel whilst staying us.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
İ. Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
403 reviews 403 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a poor experience of the Dedeman group in Antalya, this was a pleasant rehabilitation. It is situated in a very dull area, but is close enough to the most interesting sites, so that you don’t have to travel far. The building is just a big block, but it offers very comfortable facilities. The lobby is spacious. There are plenty of bars and restaurants, indoor and outdoor pools, sauna and massage. The rooms are well equipped, and there is plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Most unbelievable of all was that the hot food was actually hot for the first time in my experience of Turkish hotels. This was especially true of breakfast where no less than 4 egg dishes were available: hard boiled; scrambled with tomato and peppers; perfectly poached; and custom-made omelettes. Likewise, the traditional dinner buffet offered a much wider range of hot main courses than most of the other hotels in which we stayed. The staff are polite and helpful, and the only downside is its popularity with bus parties, all of whom march to the beat of the same drum. They arrive, leave, and eat all at the same time, putting a tremendous strain on the 3 elevators that outside of rush hours function superbly. Fifteen large tour buses were in the parking lot during our stay. If you can cope with the competition, you will have a very good visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear davidgoldberg1
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Hotel.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
İ. Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife & I stayed 3 nights early this October as part of a British tour of Cappodocia. Needs a facelift, probably very good when new. Arrival reception was a nightmare, lift capacity totally inadequate. Walked to 3rd. floor (floors = Lobby, Restaurant, 1st., 2nd., then 3rd.!!) carrying 15kgs. case & 6kgs. cabin bag - & I'm nearly 68 years old, my wife is 64! Bedroom small, old fashioned, worn, bathroom could be cleaner, not enough power outlets, aircon/heating didn't work, beds very comfortable. Lobby coffee bar could not provide cappuchino or Americano on 2nd. night, we settled for 2 Nescafes - which later took 20 minutes to pay for! Food very good, but went to dinner at 20.50 on the 3rd. night and ate with the restaurant being cleared around us! Staff generally pleasant. Panorama restaurant floor in complete darkness, so could not see the local panorama!

Room Tip: Avoid tour arrival times & stay on 1st. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear 522chris

We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your less than enjoyable experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay with us, we do take each and every Guest/s comments very seriously and we can assure that the appropriate measure have been in place in order to avoid a re-occurrence of this sort.
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.

Kind Regards,

İ Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wish people would take time to understand the hotel rating system, it is just a guide to FACILITIES AVAILABLE, not the standard of the hotel.
More English I speaking staff would help, though we found staff helpful and friendly. Our suite room was very good. Yes, the hotel is a little jaded but still pleasurable and to be honest made it feel a little "homely".
Food varied and good. Mini bar expensive, even for Turkey, but room service better value. An enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Richie008
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel whilst staying us.
We do appreciate your positive feedback and we continue to thrive to improve our standard of service at all times.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

İ. Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevasseret Ziyyon, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had just come from the Dedeman Konya which was a very good hotel. This hotel, the Dedeman Cappodocia, was awful in comparison. The elevator system was so awful that most people chose to use the stairs, even to the 4th and 5th floors. The food selection was really poor except for the eggplant salads. The hotel wasn't located near anything, there were no shops or anywhere to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Susan L
We would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel.
We are extremely sorry about the unsatisfactory level of service that you experienced during your stay and we can assure you that the matter has been thoroughly investigated and will not re-occur.
We do hope that we will be in a position to Welcome you back at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel and redeem ourselves.
Once again, thank you very much for bringing your dissatisfaction with the levels of service to our attention.

Kind regards,

İ. Gündüz Yeşil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bankura, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

this was my first stay in a luxury 5 star hotel. Was expecting a lot. The First impression was " its ok". the rooms are spacious but with very few power outlet.the furniture and room heating systems are pretty old. the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. the breakfast is really very good but the dinner is kind of an OK business. The swimming area is quite small and was crowded. the most annoying thing is the hotel doesn't have smoking rooms. its very irritating to get down 8 floors for a smoke every time.
well if it continues to have the 5 star rating it needs to have a total renovation.
but the evening music shows in the lobby are great to listen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedeman_Kapadokya, General Manager at Dedeman Kapadokya, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear caaesar
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your experience at the Dedeman Cappadocia Hotel whilst staying us.
We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as the services received in our Hotel.
Your comments have been shared with our Team members accordingly and we are looking forward to Welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

İ. Gündüz Yeşil
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dedeman Kapadokya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dedeman Kapadokya

Address: Urgup Yolu 2 Km, Nevsehir 50200, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Nevsehir Province > Nevsehir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Nevsehir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dedeman Kapadokya 5*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dedeman Kapadokya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dedeman Hotel Nevsehir
Dedeman Kapadokya Turkey/Nevsehir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dedeman Kapadokya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.