We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on a Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Sultan Cave Suites
Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Juba, South Sudan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxury on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was part two of our high-low approach to our stay in Goreme...and although this was supposed to be the splurge, it really was incredible value for money and not at all expensive by international standards. Being on a bit of a budget, this was a great place to spend a few extra dollars to get a few nights of real luxury.

Mustafa was incredibly helpful and we had a great time getting to know him and his brother Hasan, who was managing the sister hotel at Kelebek where we went for the best of all our hammam experiences (and there were many). Again, incredible value.

The included breakfast buffet was the best we found in all of Turkey, with way more on offer than in most hotels. As well as the usual bread, cheese, jam, boiled eggs, tomato and cucumber there were baked goods, cereals and omelets made to order. We also ate dinner in the restaurants of both Sultan and Kelebek and both were very good. Seten at Sultan was the perfect fine-dining experience with great food an impeccable service, while we had a more casual meal in the cozy bar area at Kelebek.

I can't recommend this place enough - 5-star accommodations at 3-star prices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    96
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
323
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

it was amazing to spent a bit of time in your hotel !!!!!!
we have a really beautifull time there and a lot of fun !!!
the hotel it's really nice and confortable !!!
we hope to come back soon!!!!
a special thanks to Mustafà and memet!!!!!!!

the 5 angels!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I can't imagine a more magical place to stay! The value was incredible for a huge 2 room suite! Very comfortable seating and bedding! I felt so welcomed and the staff was so friendly! The view just can't be beat! I couldn't stop looking out the window. The walk down to the little town is short! Turkish Heritage Travel is right on site and booked all my tours and even helped with my flights! They were amazing! I also ate at Seten, the hotels restaurant, homecooked Anatolian food that was just delicous and beautiful restaurant. I was so entranced by my suite built into the cave (but with all modern conveniences), I didn't want to leave! I would highly recommend this hotel and area as one of my favorite I've ever been to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

With 20 years in the travel I have never experienced such excellent service from a hotel. From the moment we arrived it was clear that this hotel was a cut above the average. Throughout the stay Manager Mustafa, and all the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, the hotel is in a great location just a 5 minute walk form the town center.The view from the terrace was breathtakingly beautiful. our cave room was very comfortable , great value for the money, and the delightful breakfast.It was very difficult to say goodbye.
Highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

With so many places to chose in gorgeous Goreme, Cappadocia, I was recommended by a friend to stay at the Sultan Cave Suites. Its stunning!!! The comfort was great, the beds were perfect, and the whole ambiance of the place lets you relax in the splendor of the region. Day trips can be organized, although I rented a car, and just drove all over. A balloon ride is really a must. You will thank yourself afterwards. The breakfasts were delicious, and the comeraderie of the manager, Mustafa and the owner, Mehmet, cannot be beat. I think Mehmet is the "mayor" of Goreme. He's funny and good natured. There was live music, and the restaurant served amazing meals with great wine. All in all, I am so thankful I stayed there!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We visited Goreme at the end of our two week trip in Turkey and loved this hotel. The view from the terrace is incredible, yet the walk into town is still easy and everything is nearby. We are a group of 5 friends in our 30's and we did book the following through the hotel : the balloon ride through Butterfly Balloons (do not miss this) , a day tour that included the Kaymakli underground city , and dinner at Seten. We also got good advice for venturing out on our own during the rest of the stay.

We had absolutely no problems with any arrangements and made some friends along the way! Seten was one of the best meals we had during the entire trip and the series of rooms at Sultan Cave and Kelebek next door are gorgeous. We'd recommend checking out Mehmet's Sultan Carpets as well.

As a group we've traveled extensively in Asia, Europe, South America and North America and this hotel is a gem. I absolutely would recommend this hotel to anyone.

We miss breakfast at Sultan Caves still (and we've been home 3 weeks!)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in October. It has a great view. We arranged airport transfers through hotel and tours through Heritage Travel located next door. Only complaints were you could hear people outside on the patios at night and people above us due to squeaky floor boards. Also call to prayer loudspeakers were right in front of the hotel--starting around 5:30 am. That was quite a wake up call. Breakfasts were nice and healthy--no meat, just bread, cheese, fruits, olives, etc. Tours are rather rigorous--lots of hiking, rock climbing and going through narrow caves--not for people who are out of shape or with bad knees. The weather was nice in October--around 70 on daytime.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.