We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sultan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Sultan Cave Suites
Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

love the hotel , i really liked cave rooms with amazing view of city.. hotel staff was very good and location was perfect.. the owner of hotel was sweet enough take us for small drive to city.. highly recommended.. pls book in advance they are generally full

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our property. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. From staff to the owner of the hotel, we all try our best to keep our service standards high for all our guests so that they can have a comfortable and a worthwhile stay Cappadocia.

We hope you return to Sultan for another memorable stay in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    97
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
110
343
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
haysville,kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just had a three night stay here this week. This is a lovely hotel and you will be treated very well. The breakfast is good and they make the eggs for you as requested. One night a friend and I ate at their hotel and the food was very tasty. It was a bit on the pricey side but considering the location and atmosphere not out of line.
I didn't give a 5 because the locks on the doors are very difficult to work. Also there is no safe or fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay at our hotel, and we would love to host you again. Since we use old doors to keep the local authenticity of our hotel, the locks are old style. We are happy always to walk with guests to rooms to show how the locks work. We have fridges in our suites and king suites, but not in junior suites as they are smaller in room size. We always improve our rooms having our guests' comfort in mind.

We would love to host you and your friends in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were recommended Kelebek but they were fully booked for our dates so we booked in Sultan Cave Suites for 3 nights and were delighted with everything. Although the bedroom was on the dark side it didn't spoil the atmosphere but enhanced it. The bathroom was nicely done except that the sink was too near to the door.These two minor things didn't spoiled our holiday. The sitting room was spacious and had nice cushions on two walls. Mini bar had water and soft drinks presumably free as there wasn't a price list. We didn't use it because we used the teas and coffees provided instead. Breakfast was nice and they would cook you an omelette if you asked but they didn't have croissants which was a pity!
They gave as a free drink on our arrival and we had a good meal in their restaurant with a good bottle of wine. We booked a balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons through them and were pleasantly surprised to have only 6 people in the basket at no extra charge. We were lucky but they do always limit the numbers to 12 - 16 max unlike most other companies which go up to 20.
All in all I would highly recommend the Sultan Cave Suites.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, our breakfast and the activities you have joined during your stay with us. We would love to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I had a memorable stay at this wonderful boutique hotel when visiting Turkey's Cappadocia region recently. The staff did everything right to make us feel comfortable and welcome, especially Mustafa and Ana. The hotel has a terrace with a magnificent view of the town of Goreme and the valley below, where you can sit and relax in the evening. It has a first-class restaurant, which is so popular that it's best to make reservations well in advance. The breakfast buffet is stocked with a variety of the sweetest fruit I ever tasted thanks to the area's soil. The quaint town of Goreme is withing walking distance, but Mustafa will drive you down in his own car if needed. We stayed in one of the cave rooms, an experience in itself, and my only suggestion is that it needed more light in the bathroom. I don't usually recommend hotels, but the Sultan Caves is truly outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I loved this hotel. It has a wonderful view of the town and lovely little terraces where you can sit and have a glass of wine. The staff are wonderful. Very hospitable and very friendly. It is up a hill but still an easy walk into town for restaurants even though the hotel has a great one. Breakfast spread was great - lots of variety. Assuming the room is available, you can view them on their website and then pick the one you'd like to stay in. And for being a former cave, I thought the room was plenty spacious and stays nice and toasty warm when it got chilly at night. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This boutique hotel in Göreme Turkey is all about the location: proximity to Cappadocia's World Heritage treasures, walking distance to great local cuisine, doorstep dropoff and pickup to any tour site you wish (including the famous balloon ascensions), and one of the best vista terraces for lounging, eating, and relaxing. The owners and staff provide outstanding concierge service for anything you desire. True Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Pros
- Clean, spacious rooms, but they don’t have safes or fridges
- Great view of the town and valley from the terrace
- Good variety for breakfast
- Staff are very friendly and helpful
Cons
- The hotel is a bit spread out
- It is a steep walk to and from town
Summary: Mustafa, one of the owners, was very kind and generous with his time. We actually never walked into town, as we were driven around. The attached restaurant, Seten, was one of the best we ate at in Turkey, and reasonable rates too. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.