We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Sultan Cave Suites
Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Awesome location above Goreme with great views. Clean and comfortable rooms, nice breakfast and staff provided us a lift to the start of a hiking trail.

While staying at Sultan Caves, my wife experienced a medical emergency and they were great. They packed up our stuff from our room and drove it to the hospital. The following day, they came by and brought her flowers. And when she was discharged, they picked us up and took us back to the hotel and let us use their computer to coordinate our trip home. We were in a pretty rough situation and they couldn't have been more supportive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    96
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
323
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Though we didn't get to stay in one of the cave room, we had a wonderful stay at Sultan Cave Suites. The two rooms we stayed in were both beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast was great and the owners and staff were gracious and accommodating!

Room Tip: If you want to be sure to get a cave room, we were told that you are more likely to get one if you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a fantastic property with amazing views and customer service. It is an incredible value for the money and very close to the downtown shopping area. The hotel staff (especially Mustafa) were extremely welcoming and gave us wonderful suggestions for our time in Cappadocia. We were very, very happy with this hotel and highly recommend it to anyone sorting through the large number of cave hotels in Cappadocia.

In addition, we recommend doing the hot air ballooning, Kaymakli Underground City and carpet shopping. Make sure to bring a sun hat and be prepared to walk alot of steps as the hotel and the entire city is very terraced. This, of course, makes it incredibly picturesque. Also of note is the fact that the carpet shopping in Cappadocia is far less intimidating and high pressure than in Istanbul. The store owners (including Sultan's own carpet store) are patient, informative and made our shopping experience an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are the kind of person who prefers modern, clean designs this is not the place for you. But if you like to spend some time in a place with a history, then Sultan Caves Suites is spot on.
Despite being in caves, the rooms (our room didn't quite qualify as a suite, in my view) had modern amenities. I was quite surprised how nicely done the bathroom was. The room could do with more lighting though.
The only downside for us was that our room (Room 328) was quite removed from the main building and didn't have any view to speak of (felt like sleeping in a basement). But the hospitality and attentiveness of the staff, and the fact that we were tired from all the hiking made up for the lack of view. Didn't really stay in room, so didn't mind. But if you intend to spend some time just hanging out in the room, then ask for another room (those in the main building had gorgeous views).
The restaurant Seten on site was quite decent. Breakfast spread was ok too

Room Tip: Try asking for rooms on the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and enjoyed the very good dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant! Our room had its private terrace and the view from there was wonderful!the only thing i could critisize isthe bathroom which was quote small and the tv set which was not on the bedroom... But the rest was quite nice

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We loved it once we got used to the layout! Its quite sprawling with stairs everywhere and a front and back entrance. Staff very helpful. I loved getting up at dawn and watching the hot air balloons flying. Food very good and room was big and spacious also quirky.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Even though we booked late and got a smaller, not so well ventilated room, we loved loved loved this hotel. Its friendly, beautiful, and it can cook! We hated to leave. The owner Mustafa was helpful and engaging, the the physical beauty of the area is awesome. The hotel is filled with interesting antiques and objects; the restaurant is excellent and reasonable.

Room Tip: 310 was hot, even on a very chilly night. I would try another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.