We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sultan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Sultan Cave Suites
Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Goreme
Paris
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A magical dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Where to start? Everything was superlative! The room first of all (311) had the most beautiful view, was clean, modern, comfortable beds, television, tea maker, in fact all mod cons of a 5 star hotel...even a terrace AND a beautiful balcony with a view to die for.
The hotel was fabulous. Apart from being pretty, clean, tastefully decorated, beautifully laid out, the service was also equivalent of a 5 star hotel. You wanted a massage? They arranged it (and WHAT a massage..best we have ever had!); balloon ride? Organised in 5 minutes. Dinner out? Booked for us immediately. Our luggage was lost in Istanbul, they offered to pick it up for us...and it goes on. The restaurant was fabulous, elegant but also with really typical well cooked turkish food, the breakfast buffet was outstanding, wines excellent. In fact, perfection. And value for money? Unbeatable! I think this has been our most outstanding hotel ever and we would thoroughly recommend it. We will definitely be back to one of the most beautiful and peaceful areas we have ever visited.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    96
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
100
321
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We ended up at Sultan Cave Suites by complete accident after originally booking another cave hotel in the area that looked fantastic online, but turned out to be pretty terrifying-looking in person. A lovely woman found us looking slightly upset after having just stumbled out of our dingy original hotel and said we absolutely had to change over to Sultan just down the road.

Mehmet saved our trip to Cappadocia by offering us up a fantastic junior suite and breakfast on his beautiful terrace while we waited for our room to be available. As if that weren't enough, he also booked our balloon ride with Butterfly Balloons (a fantastic operator and our guide Kaan was wonderful) and another day tour that we had wanted.

Once all the other guests were settled that first morning, Mehmet also dropped us off at the start of a great hike through Red and Rose Valleys with very clear directions how to get back to the hotel (with the option to call him if we got lost). Above and beyond the call of duty!

The breakfast buffet is wonderful and the hotel restaurant also has really great food and wine. I can't say enough about how welcoming and impressive the staff is at Sultan and I send loads of thanks over to Mehmet and Mustafa for completely making our trip to Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The cave suites are so beautiful and the service received from staff very good. The breakfasts were delicious and offered everything one could wish for. Thank you Sultan Cave Suites for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The sign of a really good hotel is that you don't want to leave, and are already thinking about the time you can return. This is certainly the case with Sultan Cave Suites. From the time of making reservations and scheduling our Butterfly Balloon ride, the staff here at the hotel has been superb. They are never too busy to help with recommendations and directions -- even going so far, one evening, as to sending a staff member out on a scooter so that we could follow them to a sunset lookout point! Nothing seems to be too much for them, and for this we are thankful. Their website has wonderful photos and descriptions so that you can choose your "cave" or room and know exactly what you will get. We are in king suite 311, which we requested primarily because of the outside balcony, and we are SO glad that we did! Our room is spacious and beautifully decorated, and besides the balcony, we also have our own private terrace; fabulous! The bathroom has a HUGE shower compartment as well as a jacuzzi tub; everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The only suggestion we would make is to have a luggage rack or two in the room, because we had to use furniture to support our suitcases. Additionally, the on-site restaurant, Seten, is superb and we recommend it highly. We have eaten there all three nights of our stay because, quite frankly, the food was so good that we didn't want to go anywhere else! Everything is well cooked, plentiful and well presented. We very, very highly recommend both Sultan Cave Suites and Seten restaurant for your stay in Goreme; you certainly will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The website has such great photos and descriptions of the room, that you can choose one that exactly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Staright away we were welcomed with such a friendly environment. The staff were all so lovely and very helpful. Our room which was a two bedroom apartment cave was just beautiful, we sat outside our room playing cards and watching the sun set on evenings. The breakfast was so amazing also and i looked forward to it every morning. I would suggest this hotel to anyone and i already have told all my friends about it. We would go back for you and we felt very safe! Thankyou everyone at Sultan for making our holiday wonderful :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

From start to finish our stay at Sultan Cave Suites was fantastic. We had a short connection in Istanbul for our flight to Nevsehir, so of course our luggage didn't make it, but upon arrival we were shown to our room and told we could check in the next day. We were pretty worn our from traveling from the U.S., so this was really nice.

The room was very nice with wooden floors, a sitting area, and a comfortable bed in a little cave of it's own. My fiance absolutely loved it. The bathroom was also nice with a walk in shower and plenty of hot water.

What truly made this place shine was the service though. We were given an itinerary for two days by one of the gentleman (I have forgot his name, which is a shame) and the recommendations were extremely helpful. He even dropped us off in Pasabaglan one day so we could hike back to Goreme and see the scenery.

Also, I can't forget the breakfast. This was definitely a highlight. Every morning they have a fantastic breakfast with fresh honey, olives, cheese, and plenty of other foods, and it's wonderful. We felt spoiled.

All in all I highly recommend this place for a nice (if maybe upscale but not too upscale) option in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Sultan Caves, and were treated to great accommodations, spectacular views of hot air balloons floating over the fairy chimneys, wonderful food and service. We booked the hotel based on reviews in TripAdvisor, and as usual, were thoroughly please. The rooms were spacious including both a large king bed, two fire places, a comfortable seating area with huge pillows, and a very clean and livable room. We ate in the hotel's restaurant, and were very surprised at how good the food was, and how attentive the service. We will send many of our friends.

Room Tip: The cave rooms have no windows....so no view from the room. Ask for a room with a view of the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.