We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view and great suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Sultan Cave Suites to your Saves list
Sultan Cave Suites
Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Goreme
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent view and great suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We arrived for a six nights stay but ended up staying for nine nights. The King suite (room no. 311) and the Presidential suite were perfect and Mustafa and Mehmet were very helpful in arranging airport transfer and answering questions about Cappadocia. We definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    88
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
287
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I spent 6 days in Cappadocia in mid-July, with Sultan Cave Suites as my home base. And I use the word 'Home' deliberately because from the minute I arrived I felt very much at home. Mustafa and Mehmet are relaxed, friendly hosts who are always available to help, chat with and joke with, and they go out of their way to make life easy for their guests. Anything I wanted, they arranged for me - from arrangements for a tour to a last-minute horseback ride in the valley, to rides to & from other villages in the area - no problem!

I was absolutely delighted with my pretty, spacious and cool cave room which provided a welcome respite from the heat outside and the best sleep I had in Turkey. As for the setting - spectacular! I couldn't get enough of the view from the terrace. And the Seten Restaurant more than lived up to its excellent reviews, with delicious food, attentive service, and a thoroughly romantic setting. And in terms of value for money - well, in Canada a completely generic room in a Best Western Hotel or Day's Inn would cost at least 20% more than my charming 'boutique' room at Sultan Cave, and wouldn't include the SC's hospitable perks or the generous & delicious buffet breakfast. So, value? Ohhhh yes!

Cappadocia is a magical place and one that I hope to return to. And when I do, I hope I'll be able to stay at Sultan Cave Suites again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We went to Sultan Caves for 3 nights and as soon as we got there we had the impression the hotel was still under construction. Many workers and noise, and a lot of dust.
The cave room itself is beatiful, and only that. The service is very poor.
The main problems we found:
- The rooms don't have air conditioner (and summer in Capadocia is VERY hot). In the cave room the temperatures are a little lower than in a regular room, but it was still very hot. They don't have fan/ventilator neither.
- The rooms don't have a safe, to we had to go out everyday carrying all our money.
- The rooms don't have minibar, so you cannot drink anything cold.
- The rooms don't have TV. The electrical part of the rooms seems unfinished, with cables appearing.
- The cave room has only a little window, on the door side, that leads to an internal patio. Everyone that passes there can see your room, and you can see them, unless you close the window (what makes the room hotter). You don't get much privacy.
- From my room we could hear everything people in the room next door were saying, very clearly. That sometimes was very anoying. They probably could hear us too...
- The shower: once you mix the water to the temperature you like and start taking your bath, the temperature goes from very cold to very hot all the time. I complaint about that and the manager just said that the hotel water system was this way, and there was nothing he could do (he said that in a very rude way).
- Internet connection very bad, we could not connect in the wirelless (don't work in the caves) and with the cable it was very instable. We could'n use it.
- The rooms are far from the recepcion. Acctually, some rooms are outside the hotel. Our room leaded to an internal patio with 2 or 3 other rooms, that goes directly to the street. To go to the recepcion or to eat breakfast you have to walk about 200 m in the street and pass another hotel and then go inside Sultan Caves. Very weird. Also have stairs, so it is not easily accesible for older people, young children or people with disabilities.
- Very small bathroom.
- The room has a phone, but it does only room to room calls. If you want to call home or to a restaurant, you have to go to the recepcion. And when I was there the recepcion phone was not working well, so they could not hear what we were saying, and we had to walk to the recepcion outside the hotel to get simple information.
- Service very poor, seems that they just don't care.

We were in a group of 5 people and we used 2 rooms, and nobody was happy with the hotel. That is a shame, because the hotel has a great potential, thet could make it a much better experience, specially considering we were paying very high price for the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask what the room has before booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for having chosen Sultan Cave Suites as your base in Cappadocia. We see that we have not met your expectations, and since 2011 we have made many improvements addressing some of the issues you have mentioned. We had no control over the then-ongoing construction at our neighbor hotel, but that has also been also completed.
We never advertise non-existent amenities in our rooms. All prospective guests can check our website for details of our rooms with a few professional pictures for each room. Since we are a cave hotel, no two rooms are the same, so we feel the need to show each of our rooms to our guests in detail, and that is how our website is organized.
We have A/C in all of our stone rooms and in some of our cave rooms. We only install A/C to cave rooms when the installation process is not too complicated as we have to also think about the preservation of the caves we inhabit. Also, Cappadocia has very cool nights throughout the year as it has a dry climate and a high elevation at 1100 meters. During the day, we have only 30-45 days of heat in all year (at about 35 degrees celsius max.), and cave rooms do not get very hot as a result of natural insulation provided by their thick walls. In most days, a fan to circulate the air is comforting and we certainly provide fans for our guests if we are asked for one.
Please note that all of our room prices are also posted on our website. You complain that the room prices were "very high", and we do not know how much you paid for the rooms as you booked through a travel agency. However, considering all cave hotels in the vicinity, our room rates are not "very high" as you mentioned. We would advise guests to double check our website for rates if booking our rooms through travel agents to see the rates of our rooms. Contacting us directly for rooms is also a good option as we help our guests over emails to choose best fitting rooms for their needs.

We hope to host you again in the near future for a better experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were originally booked in the sister hotel, Kelebek. We had a mix up with dates, which was partly our fault. Hussein, the manager is a really class act. He sorted thing out and ensured this problem did not spoil our trip. We ended up getting 2 rooms at the Sultan Caves which was very lucky for us. We could still use the pool and facilities at Kelebek but had 2 terrific rooms and got to meet Mustafa and Memet. They really made the holiday and have a wonderful way to engage. It is not over the top hospitality but they looked after us so well and the kids really warmed to them. Mustafa droppped us to the open air museum at one stage. The free Apple teas were a hit.

The view has been mentioned often. We enjoyed the balloon trip but did not try and go on long tours in the area.

Sultan Caves was the kids favourite hotel in our 5 week trip through Europe.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The place is beautiful with a incredible view, the cave room is cozy, very clean and diferent. The breakfast is delicious and the restaurant is great! The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Mustafa and Mehmet we miss you! Memnun oldum. We spent our best time in Turkey during these days.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The warm spirit of the staff was really amazing, loved every minute of it. Service was great, breakfast buffet was the best had a spread of the freshest most wholesome produce. Seten resturant had the best views of the city of Goreme. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My friend, her daughter and I stayed here after staying in a camping type facility further south. We arrived hot, tired and grumpy after driving for more than 10 hours. The staff came out to meet us, lifted our luggage and whisked us to our quiet, cool cave room. The rooms were excellently decorated, super clean and extremely comfortable. Mustafa, Mehmet and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable and treated us like family. We were thrilled that our friends at Sultan Carpets (a fantastic, trustworthy group of guys selling the most beautiful carpets) recommended the hotel to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room if you can (you can actually select your room online) and the staff speaks great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.