We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't stop raving about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kismet Cave House to your Saves list
Kismet Cave House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Can't stop raving about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Cappadocia was the highlight of our Turkey trip and not just because of the place but also because of Faruk and the charming Kismet Cave House that he runs.

Kismet has great location, the rooms are nice and tastefully decorated with local artifacts. All our transfers and tours were superbly arranged. The Turkish breakfast is to die for.

Faruk, his family and staff are really warm and friendly which made our trip special. Special mention to their puppy Alex who is bundle of naughtiness and super fun.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose room at the top of the hotel. The view from the sitting area right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    34
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
75
164
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Kismet Cave House is located just off Goreme's main street - easy to walk to, but in a quiet side street. The rooms are a good size and all the decorations, bed-spreads etc are locally made, so every detail is authentic. Faruk arranged our transfer from Kayseri airport and he and his staff gave us a warm welcome when we arrived. We immediately felt at home, and Faruk arranged to make various tour reservations for us. We had booked a hot air balloon ride in advance in Istanbul, but he took care of arranging a personal driver to take us around Soganli valley, booked our tickets to a beautiful whirling dervish show in a caravanserai (a truly memorable evening), arranged for us to join a full-day tour of the Ihlara valley and underground city AND booked our bus tickets to Antalya. He couldn't have been more accommodating. The breakfast (included in the nightly rate) was delicious, and the atmosphere in the hotel was very pleasant and relaxed. I recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a cosy place to stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Owner Faruk very helpful, attentive and also non-intrusive. Location is good, walking distance from town center. Tastefully done up hotel. Old world charm and atmosphere. Great place for relaxing. Farul helps out with arranging cars for travel and shuttle drops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is an authentic structure reflecting the surrounding architecture which is out of the comic smurfs which is just soo different from anything I have seen. The rooms, fire place, hot apple tea,and ever helpful presence of Faruk the owner makes the place seem surreal.

The place is well kept, serves a good breakfast, helpful staff and provides wifi(for those that want to stay connected to the outside world).

Good recommendations on the places to see and the places worth visiting. The little book reading section adds its own personal touch.

I went in June 2011 and am writing this pretty late but since the earliest date I have is Oct 2011 I click that.

Room Tip: The cave room on the right before ascending the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel if you are in this part of Turkey. The peacefulnes,wonderful hospitality and a traditional experience in this fairy chimney cave hotel with it's tasteful interior designs and antiques is an experience you will never forget. It has amazing views from the terrace overlooking the fairy chimney scenery . A perfect start to the day whilst having a delicious breakfast including natural and home grown food eg own yogurt,fruit marmalades and farm honey. The rooms are clean and traditionally decorated with colourful rugs and new en suites.
This family owned hotel offers a peaceful retreat whilst still being in walking distance to Goreme village . The owner Faruk speaks very good English and is extremely helpful arranging your trips throughout the Cappadocia area. He is very welcoming to his hotel which is just like home from home. If I come this way again I would definitely stay here and recommend this superb hotel to my travelling friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

staff has good comand of english, decoration of house is authentic, food is exceptionaly good, everything is at walking dist (famous stones of Goreme at 3h walking dist or 20 minutes drive but you also can take local buses to Urgup). No eng tv programs, otherwise is exceptional place with good management.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights last week and wish we could have stayed longer.The owner Faruk was the most helpful, welcoming and charming host we experienced during our 2 week trip of Turkey. On arrival, he picked us up from the bus station with such a huge welcoming smile, I felt like I was visiting a good friend. He offered us a choice of 2 rooms ( as they were not busy), and we chose the top floor room near the balcony. It was absolutely superb, with beautiful Turkish furnishnigs and a large bathroom. We had beers on arrival sitting on the terrace overlooking rose valley and the stunning scenery, while he helped us plan our stay.He booked a faulous tour of the surrounding area and a fabulous balloon ride with a reputable company( get the smaller balloon with 16 people capacity) The breakfasts were the best we'd had, with all the produce being organic coming from the local farms. Mahmut was also a wonderful staff member, and was always there if you needed anything, including lovely apple tea on the terrace. Would love to return and would stay longer next time. It was like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are larger with higher ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kismet Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.