We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not reccommend any more highly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canyon View Hotel to your Saves list
Canyon View Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aydinli Mah. No 18 | Nevşehir, Goreme 50500, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could not reccommend any more highly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Throughout our 3 week tour of Turkey, the Canyon View Hotel was without doubt the best accommodation we stayed in.

The beautifully furnished cave room was fantastic - amazing view and it came complete with a balcony and jacuzzi for a very competetive price. Breakfast was included, as were drinks at breakfast - orange juice, tea, coffee, whatever you fancied really. We were pleasantly surprised when we were brought a sizzling and well seasoned ommlette to compliment the standard turkish breakfast (bread, cucumber, tomato and cheese).

The staff were lovely. Nothing was too much for them and they were constantly doing everything they could think of to make their guests happy. The manager Mustafa even marched to the bus station and sorted us out with a ticket for a night bus to Olympos which we had stupidly left to the last minute.

I could not reccommend the Canyon View Hotel any more highly. The incredibly welcoming, thoughtful, competent staff combined with the fantastic location make this a sure winner.

Mustafa if you are reading this - thank you again!
Best wishes to you and your staff
George and Jess

Room Tip: Room No. 3 comes with our reccommendations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    48
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
122
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We booked our room online through an agency who recommended the hotel. It was a great decision! We are a family with two young children and our suite room was perfect. The kids loved the room which really started our cultural experience in the area on a great note. Comfy and clean with local influences throughout. For the price it really was excellent. We also had a great breakfast each day that we didn't even expect. The highlight though was the hospitality we received from Mustafa and his family. We were only after a few ideas about what to do and ended up with a private tour, lifts to restaurants, and more. They really made our children feel at home. This place is equally good for couples of the solo traveler as well. Will be recommending to al our friends when we return home.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel was awful. The best story at the end of our one night stay was the three pairs of well-worn slippers in one of our two rooms that came from three different hotels. The rooms were dingy and dirty. I cannot imagine that the linens on the beds have been replaced in a decade. The main lobby is being used as someone's living room with people sleeping on the benches in the dining room for the night. The main bathroom should have been our first clue--it was lined with someone's toothpaste, brushes, and hair gels. And the worst part of all was that this was not a cheap place to stay. We paid more than double what we have spent on the entire rest of the trip and been satisfied everywhere else. I have no idea how anyone else reviewing this hotel could have a favorable impression of the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustafaqunsal, Manager at Canyon View Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
This guest checked in one day earlier (6/16) than actual booking date (6/17). Unfortunately our rooms were not available on 6/16 so we recommend another hotel then he moved to the hotel we suggested. He didn't stay with us. Hence, this review is for the hotel which he actually checked in and not for our hotel. We are sorry for his bad experience with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmaris
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

we had the cave suite for 60euro, the room is nice, bed was excellent for sleeping. nights were cold, heating was put on the second night as temperatures dropped. unfortunately there was a construction site next door, but workers start pretty late (9am or later), nights were very calm and cozy.
owners of the hotel are very friendly and welcome. in summary, this hotel is good value for a very nice room and a clean bed.
the bathroom makes a rather dark impression, nor sure if the Jacuzzis make sense there, a nice shower might be more appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

A family owned hotel that treats you like family. Hotel was clean, warm, cozy and friendlyand has a beautiful view from their terraces. The owners went out of their way to welcome us. Seyit went out of his way to come and get us when we were not familiar with the area. He also showed us the different "nontouristy" spots of Cappodocia. Mustafa created a traditional Turkish breakfast which included homemade eggs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have traveled in many countries and stayed in many hotels, and this by far exceeds anything I have encountered in the past. It lies in one of the caves that houses a rooftop terrace, giving you instant access to a 360 degree breath-taking view. The rooms are large and comfortable. However, the best part is the staff. They are extremely helpful, even after you pay, which is a hard to come by in Turkey. They will assist in any way they can, and I cannot give this establishment a higher recommendation.
Number 6 was the room I inhabited and in my opinion is the best.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I have been away from home for six years now and this is the best hotel I have staid in. It was $50 a night and just as nice as the 5 star hotels I staid in South West Asia. The Place was a 1000 year old church and is now a hotel. Small pool, beautiful view from the roof top terrace, great clean room, and comfortable beds. It is ran by two really pleasant brother. Thy are very helpful. Let us check out late and saved breakfast for us. Awesome! Great family feel to it. Went to a couple other people's hotels and they weren't even close to the CVH and twice the price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon View Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. No 18 | Nevşehir, Goreme 50500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Goreme
#12 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyon View Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon View Hotel finished construction in 2003. It was formed out of the remains of traditional housing dating from Byzantine times. The hotel boasts one of the best vantage points in all of Goreme. You get the entire view of the Cappadocian region which was used by the early Christians as a settlement in the 9th century.Our cave hotel has 9 rooms, a kitchen and a restaurant which serves traditional Turkish foods to tempt your tastebuds. All the rooms are equipped with private shower and toilet facilities and some have a jakuzi. The rock formations and churches are within a ten minute walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Canyon View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Canyon View
Canyon View Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.