We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Star Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Star Cave Hotel
Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% INDIRIM
Ranked #33 of 46 hotels in Goreme
Belwood, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean. Free chai should be offered all day but is not. Great lounge area and the location is within walking distance of stores, cafes & restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    45
    14
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
55
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My partner and I stayed here recently for 4 nights in a private room on the ground floor. The location of the hotel is great, a few mins from the town centre and nice and quiet. Buffet breakfast was included in the rate and it was sufficient; a typical Turkish breakfast. A little hard to communicate with the staff as English speakers. Towards the end of our stay we met the manager Ramazan who spoke English well and was helpful in suggesting tours and walks we could do, marking the walks on a map for us. The room itself was problematic for three reasons: 1. We booked online and chose a specific room which we didn't get put in; 2. The bed was really uncomfortable and you could feel all the wire springs easily (we didn't sleep well the whole time); 3. The room stunk of sewage and the fan in the bathroom was broken, we had to open our door and window daily whenever possible to try to reduce the smell (it was freezing and snowing during our stay so not ideal). The light above our bed was broken, the doors very squeaky and got stuck on the floor while opening. Just needs a bit of TLC to get it up to scratch. To be fair though, we didn't raise with the staff. The room was however nice and warm at night and it was novel to stay in a cave room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Cappadocia. The hotel itself is great, with beautiful rooms, great hot water, and comfortable beds. The service is very good as well. When it became evident our tour company forgot us, Ramazan helped to call them and get things back on track. He also arranged punctual and comfortable airport transfers for us. The breakfast left much to be desired, and on the last night of our stay there seemed to be a bit of water coming in through the ceiling. Other than that, a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of package deal bought in Istanbul. Upon arrival got put into a dorm by mistake but problem was solved quickly by Monica the reservation lady.

A pretty good place to stay, and an OK budget option. Cleanliness is lacking in my room 105. Bathroom were not cleaned from previous guests. When it snowed or rained bathroom is always wet. This could be a much better place if it is manage a bit better and maintenance be stepped up a bit.

\grounds are very untidy.

\breakfast were pretty good too, you get egg, bread etc standard turkish style. Nothing too fancy, but filling.

The reception area is unguarded and unlocked for much of the day. I have serious concern about guests luggages being stored here for the day. If you have a room key, take it with you! As they are hanging in the common area, again, unguarded.

A friendly enough place, but if you are prepare to pay Euro 35 per night per room, it pays to shop around.

Room Tip: If you want a real cave room, remember to ask in advance as not all rooms are dug into rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights in the largest suite, and enjoyed our stay in Cappadocia so much that we added a third night (we only reserved two).

Ramazan was extremely helpful in coordinating our visit, recommending activities and tours and arranging them once we'd decided what to do. We took his recommendation of skipping the Red Tour and renting a scooter to cruise around on our own, which turned out to be a lot of fun. We did take the recommended Green Tour, and got a great guide. Our last night there, Ramazan was hosting a large group and invited us to join them with a delicious traditional Turkish meal that he prepared.

Our room was quite attractive and had a nice morning view from the private balcony. It had one large bed as well as a twin bed, a sitting area by the fireplace, and a large private bathroom. Little alcoves were carved into the rock walls and looked charming. Minor complaints: the mattress wasn't that great and the bathroom had a slight odor (though that was easily ignored by closing the door to the bathroom).

Ramazan was the only one who spoke english well, and he was very busy, so we had to wait our turn a few times, but the staff were very helpful about tracking him down for us if he was not at the hotel. Breakfast was good although later than billed.

We arrived late in the evening on our first night and the airport transfer Ramazan had arranged didn't come for us (though we found our own way there, thankfully), but he was very nice about coming to let us in at 10:30 at night, and gave us a bottle of wine to make up for it. It was a little challenging finding the place in the dark, but once we knew where it was it was an excellent location to base our travels.

The wireless did not reach our room, it was best in the common area downstairs. The indoor common area was locked for part of the day, but the outdoor common area was very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We were 4 people and stayed for 2 nights in November 2011. We had two very nice, clean and very warm (important as it was freezing outside at nights!) rooms. Not all of their rooms are truly cave rooms, so if it is very important to you to stay in a cave room you should specially ask for it, but anyway all the rooms of the hotel I have seen were very pretty.

Ramazan, the hotel owner, was welcoming and helpful by giving us maps and directions for the different hiking and sight-seeing tours we could make in the area (without forcing any (usually expensive) guided tour or whatsoever on us) and gave us some very helpful advice about where to eat in Göreme.

A special reward should be given to the breakfast. Breakfast was served to us by Ramazan’s sister even after the end of the official breakfast time (8:00-10:00 am.) and was made of cornflakes and muesli, bread, jam and honey and a most delicious freshly made omelet with vegetables. Along this nescafé and tea are included in the breakfast, but you can always ask for some Turkish coffee or fruit juice on top.

The Hotel is situated in walking distance of several valleys (e.g. love valley, pigeon valley, red valley) and altogether we can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

A pleasant place for backpackers, though looking a little closer, you realize the rooms lack privacy (just one small, wispy curtain) and the rack of keys is out in the open... Star Cave relies heavily on tour packages booked elsewhere, and when I asked to stay for another day, I got gouged a bit, as Ramazan insisted that the dorms were full for the next two days, even though only one person slept there that night. Anyway, Cappadoccia is a great place, but the money grab is on. Vigilance!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Goreme
#23 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Star Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.