We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean hotel but not what we booked!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarihan Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sarihan Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Gaferli Mah. Unlu Sk No: 20, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Good location, clean hotel but not what we booked!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We book a standard double room in Sarihan cave hotel that may have tv, bathroom amenities, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer... but when we arrive there, it was given to us a room without all this features. It was a big room, with 4 beds, no TV, no hairdryer and there isn´t an individual space for shower, so after shower all the bathroom was wet, being dificult to dress in the bathroom. The bathroom amenities were just a small bottle of shower gel. There are another good rooms in the hotel with all those features, but when we complaint about the room, they told us the other rooms were more expensive. Of course we feel deceived because this room wasn´t what we booked and it doesn´t worth the money we pay for.
Apart from this, the hotel is very well located, nice view, clean and very quiet. Breakfast is basic but good. I recomend it but look the room before pay..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
16
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We loved staying here, so much that we stayed an extra day. Everyone in the hotel is family, and so very friendly. The accomodations are simple, but have everything you need. Travelling in Turkey, you brought your own toothbursh & paste, and what do you need TV for? You are out hiking, sightseeing, shopping all day. At night you come back and sleep soundly, then have a Turkish breakfast.

Ali and his father offer advice, give rides to the bus station, and arrange any tour you like. Ali's English is excellent, and someone else speaks German. Fr, Sp, unknown if spoken or not. Wireless is reliable but only reaches through lobby and first couple of terrace tables.

The views are stunning. Your time here will be peaceful and perfect!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
518 helpful votes 518 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

I stayed at Sarihan Cave Hotel May 24-28, 2008, in the suite, room 21. The suite was wonderful! – spacious, clean, the bed was firm and comfortable, and the large bathroom has a two-person Jacuzzi shower/tub (which was wasted on this solo traveller). As well, the room was not musty, which I gather can be a problem in many of the cave hotels. There is no fridge in the suite but the manager let me keep my wine, cheese, and water in the hotel fridge – don’t know if that would be possible when they are fully booked. The views from the balconies are exceptional (see attached picture). Breakfast is basic, with packaged jams, but does include an egg. The owner/manager Mr. Yelcin was most helpful at recommending places to eat (as they only serve breakfast) and tours to take. Wifi only works in the hotel lobby, so it is not that convenient if you are using Skype.
The regular rooms are quite small and basic and there is no shower enclosure, so the bathroom gets covered water whenever you shower. I would definitely book the suite if it is available – if not, look at another hotel.

  • Liked — location, views from the balcony, nearby attractions
  • Disliked — no fridge in suite, wifi only in lobby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

We booked through an agent ın Istanbul and totally regret it! The Sarihan Cave Hotel leaves a LOT to be desired. The staff is unfriendly, unhelpful and outright rude.
They entered our room each time we left. No idea why they did this but they did and it just made us feel uneasy.
The room was not in a cave at all but near a cave which just seemed lame. We weren't set on staying in a cave but come on - advertise what it is youre selling.
We were supposed to get a bottle of wine with our stay and when we mentioned it suddenly no one spoke a lick of english. none of the staff had ever heard of the proprıetor when we asked to speak to hım. our door frame to our room dıdnt meet the wall so there was a gap which didnt make us feel too secure.
im not sure if we are more unhappy with the hotel or our booking agent in istanbul but i would avoıd both!!
travel agent in istanbul - alaya travel agency

  • Liked — locatıon
  • Disliked — the accomodatıon ıtself
  • Tips/Secrets — skıp ıt!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarihan Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarihan Cave Hotel

Address: Gaferli Mah. Unlu Sk No: 20, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sarihan Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarihan Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarihan Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.