We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating reception staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SOS Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added SOS Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SOS Cave Hotel
Goreme Center | Aydınlı Mah. Cakmaklı Sokak No:4, Goreme, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 hotels in Goreme
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Accommodating reception staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My friends and I stayed at SOS Cave Hotel for 3 nights recently. We had a great time in Cappadocia. One of the reasons is the hospitality of the reception guy and he was always at Hotel 24 hours/7 days and tried his best to get everything we need. He was so friendly!

The cave room is nice and comfortable. The bathroom is clean and tidy. Wifi is available everywhere. The hotel offers a delicious traditional Turkish breakfast but the quantity is limited...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    59
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
53
127
45
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

6 of us stayed at SOS Cave Hotel for only 2 nights from 18 to 20 Nov 2013. It was such a short stay. However we had an wonderful experience. They(Volkan) will try their best to ensure you enjoy the most in your holiday at Cappadocia. The memory still vivid now, and want to go back if time/money permitted.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe room as we want the window, but it was so cold at night. Think the cave room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Bagpack with 5 of friends Nov 2013. Hotel arranged airport pick up and provide great service whole trip. Recommended place to stay, clean room and great breakfast provided with reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I booked a 3 night, 2 day tour with Rock Valley Tour and had a fabulous time in mid Nov.
We were welcomed at the hotel in a warm reception area, by Volkan, after our flight from Izmir and an hour's journey from Kayseri airport. No standing around a tiny area, filling in forms. We were offered a hot cup of rosé hip tea, which was so refreshing and lovely.

Initially offered a non- cave room, they changed us to a cave room the next morning at our request. It was such an unusual experience as although the outside was about -3C, the room was warm, with only minimal heating and we had good sleep.

Breakfast was a good spread, which included fresh & dried fruits - my 1st taste of the organic sun dried apricots which were delicious.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & they were always courteous. Musa has a great way with his staff and guests and made us feel so welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived late in the evening on the last stop of our trip to Turkey. We were promptly greeted at the door by Volkan who showed us our room after a welcoming Turkish tea. The cave room was quite nice - very comfortable bed, quiet and cozy on the cool nights. Each morning we thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful breakfast of fresh fruits, vegetables, cheeses, breads, coffee and teas. Our three day stay included a full day tour of the area and two days of independent sightseeing with the help of Volkan and Musa. We especially enjoyed the hiking in the Rose and Pigeon Valleys and experiencing the farmers' market in Avanos with Musa. What an experience to see all the local farmers and to see where they purchase their weekly food supplies! During our visit to Turkey, we found the SOS Cave hotel unmatched in friendliness, cleanliness and comfort from the attentive staff. The patio and dining area have beautiful views of the cave dwellings all around us. Their hospitality has left us with wonderful memories and anxious to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived late at the hotel and was met by a very friendly Volkan who insisted I went to bed And sorted the formalities the next day.
My room was in a cave suite and it' wasn't until the next morning that I could appreciated the stunning views from my patio.
I stayed here on my own before a trip south to meet friends and was made to feel very welcome. Volkan arranged some trips for me to do so that I could see as much as I wanted during my 3 days.
The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was the usual Turkish fare but very good with the bonus of home made borek fresh from the oven.
The only downside is that the restaurant was not currently open at night but they recommended a good one nearby.
Would highly rate this hotel for friendly staff, good rooms and great location. Within walking distance of the town but far enough out to be undisturbed. Check out the balloons flying over your head at 6.30 am. An amazing sight.

Room Tip: The larger cave suites are spacious and have the best views and the ones on the front have more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girdwood, Alaska, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wow -'3 blocks from the town center but on the edge of the pigeon valley with an unobstructed view of the Citadel....so it's quiet. Employees aspire to the highest level of service that guests allow. They seem to have a knack for understanding guest needs without being intrusive or annoying. The breakfast was our favorite in a month in Turkey. Some of the rooms are seductive - and the view is nonpariel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SOS Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOS Cave Hotel

Address: Goreme Center | Aydınlı Mah. Cakmaklı Sokak No:4, Goreme, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#3 Business Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your SOS Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sos Cave Pansion Goreme
SOS Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SOS Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.