We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you know where you are going!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Valley

Pigeon Valley
Uchisar KasabasI | Nevşehir Kapadokya, Goreme 50240, Turkey
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$42*
and up
Southern Cappadocia Tour: Cavusin, Red Valley...
Ranked #5 of 10 Attractions in Goreme
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Cultural
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Make sure you know where you are going!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We walked back through Pigeon Valley after visiting Uchaisar (awesome). Although we had asked several people for directions, we ended up starting all the way at the end of town which was probably 1.5km farther than necessary. The path is not well marked and inevitably we got lost and found ourselves on a path that lead straight off a cliff. We started to backtrack and found a local farmer who spoke basic English and was oly too happy to shows the way. Turns out we had started in Pigeon Valley and somehow ended up in Canyon Valley which is virtually impassable (especially with kids ages 5&9 in tow)! We ended up with a very cool "guided tour" from our new friend who led us through a very narrow cave passage (not a chance would we have gone in there without him,) and a shortcut back to the Pigeon Valley path. This likely saved us at least an extra hour of walking on a pretty hot day. It is a lovely walk but be sure you are clear on the directions before you set off.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    247
    84
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

you can see the whole goreme region, Beautiful sights u may find there.
for visiting place you should register On green tour at NOMAD travel agency and take the green tour.
you may have info for tours from Vehbi(the owner) or Done(tour guide).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great short hike - leave from Goreme and visit Hasan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This isn't one of my personal favourite valleys in the area, but it's very nice when combined with the White and Love valleys afterward. Pigeon valley itself is about 2 kms, and a pleasant walk. It's mostly uphill if you go from Goreme to Uchisar (so downhill the other way, obviously). I prefer to hike uphill (easier on the knees), plus an added bonus to going from Goreme is that, meat the end of your hike, about 10 minutes before you end in Uchisar, right after a killer hill, you come across Hasan's Tea Salon, like a welcome oasis. Do pay Hasan a visit. He'll brew you tea, or squeeze fresh orange juice for you, offer peanuts and cookies, all for a song. And what's better, just get him talking. He was a local guide for years, so if you need and itinerary suggestions, our questions about anything local, he's better than anything you'll find on Wikipedia. If you take the valley to Goreme, this is at the very beginning, so you likely won't appreciate it much.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We intended to hike the entire valley, from Goreme to Uchysar, however the weather wasn't great (some mist and very cold), so we had to stop and go back on the half way. The place is magical, primarily where the valley narrows.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great views and photo ops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This pretty valley at the foot of the Uchisar province (up on a hill) is a great place to pull over for photos on your way to Uchisar (a likely place you will stay if you visit Cappadocia). We also flew over this valley in a hot air balloon. Its full of fairy chimneys and other rock formations and probably wonderful for a hike in summer (although we were there in March and there was snow on the ground). Probably the best place to enjoy it is from the vantage point of the main road overlooking the valley on your way into Uchisar.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Valley also viewed

Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Pigeon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.