We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassan's Tea Garden was one of the best parts of our trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Valley

Pigeon Valley
Uchisar KasabasI | Nevşehir Kapadokya, Goreme 50240, Turkey
Improve this listing
Visit Pigeon Valley like an insider
Top Rated
$240*
and up
2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri
Ranked #10 of 34 things to do in Goreme
Attraction details
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
148 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Hassan's Tea Garden was one of the best parts of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My fiancee and I did the Pigeon Vally hike from Uchisar castle to.Goreme. We got a bit lost, the pathways are not clearly marked; this caused us a bit of stress because we had a flight to catch later that evening but after climbing up the hill we got our bearings back and figured it out. This hike was much more beautiful than the Rose valley hike we did the day before.

However, the best part was Hassan's tea garden! Hassan has been running this cute little tea garden for about 5 years about 1/3rd of the way from Uchisar to Goreme. It has a hand written sign (marker on a big plastic sheet) and benches with cushions arranged under some shady trees. Hassan is super sweet, a good natured Cappadocia native who served us delicious apple tea and peanuts for just 4 lira! Just what we needed to boost our energy before finishing our hike

Honestly this is one of my fondest memories of the entire 10 day Turkey trip, be sure to take this hike and say hi to Hassan for me!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    285
    89
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great walk with lots to look at historically, thn you can climb back up at ny time. We then walked back up hill to climb Uchasar castle. Could see all the caves where people had, and still were, living.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“be careful with directions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

we walked straight down from edge of uchitsar and wound up on a cliff side having to climb back over ridge to reach actual trail. The whole thing was SPECTACULAR though, better than the more frequented red and rose valley. Make sure you stop in for tea at the incredibly quirky tea garden halfway down the valley. The owner is a delight

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting place and worthwhile to add to your tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sister and I visited this valley as part of our private tour with Cem, from Aydinli Cave Hotel. Cem explained all about how the pigeon poop was collected as fertilizer for the best tomatoes ever. It was fascinating to climb up around the pigeon holes in the rocks. A must see if you are in the area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great views and a challenging hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went on a hike suggested by our hotel, it was a bit challenging, but perhaps we lost our way.The hike is not very long, perhaps 2 miles or so, but make sure to carefully make your choices when the roads fork.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Valley also viewed

 

Been to Pigeon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.