We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent host but awful to sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kemal's Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kemal's Guest House to your Saves list
Kemal's Guest House
Zeybek Sok. No:3, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 69 Goreme B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent host but awful to sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at kemal for 4 days, 2 night spent in the "cave room" and 2 in the honey moon suite.
The cave room is a cave, no light , humid but cheap(40eur per noght per room). The beds were old and very uncomfortable and the overall room felt like as it was dirty. Bathroom was clean but awful ..everynight we were going back to the room i always tried to find reason to hang out.
3rd and4th night we spent in the honey moon suite (80eur per night). The bed was much much better and the bathroom clean but the most important thing is that there was light and air...bad side was that we were waken up from a lot of flies(there must have been a crack where they were entering..and they were aware of it as there was one of those racket to kill them in the room as tool) that were going everywhere and felt like one scene of the exorcist!!!
If u look at the host there were both nice and helpful and gave hint on where to go...but again i d not eat there as there were cats (2) going around everywhere and kemel was smoking while cooking... I am very piky on those things...
Well enjoy goreme and cappadocia

Room Tip: If u want to stay there ask for the honey moon suite...more expensive but at least there is light an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kemal d, Owner at Kemal's Guest House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guests,
thanks you for writing to Tripadvisor. We took your advice seriously and made sure these problems were dealt with as much as we could: the cave rooms have new ventilation and beds. We also found a better solution for the fly-problem.
Barbara and Kemal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
37
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Bees
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Three males stayed with Kemal and his Dutch wife Barbara in the Penthouse suite-only room available when we visited on spec. A really large room meant for Honemoon couples but big enough for Barbara to put in two more beds for our two nights stay and at a dicount rate. First class accommodation in a very homely Guest house. Good meals and home cooked food by kemel himself.

If you want to stay in Goreme-Cappodocia, I could not think of a better place to stay right in the heart of this lovely town.

Both Kemel and Barbara speak English and Barbara also speaks other languages.

Chris Ward

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights last summer, but really would have loved to be able to stay for a couple of weeks. The garden is beautiful, the food fantastic, the owners very laid back and easy going. Our room was charming, and we were made to feel very much at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I pick this hotel cause i read that babaras knew everything of hiking point. After we arrived they said hello and disappaired. When I wanna ask the staff about something there is a strange guy following us into the hotel wanna sell us ballon tour,green tour etc.Especially he talked like he is staff here and offer us tea, said"it's our culture to welcome u"bla bla bla.I can't get any useful info.The room was ok for us(no view but near to the bus station) When we ask for pay the the night before leaving,we surprised the tea were caculated inside the bill and when i try to explain about the story of that strange man, babaas came out looks unfrendly to cancel the 1euro tea fee. Come on , who cares about that 1euro. Then kamel came back, angry with my friend who was in the dormitory room because she took the key with her when she went to the ballon tour.We answered that u should have told her before but the turth is u said nothing.He was saying like"oh, r u come from the moon?Every place of dormitory is this rule bla bla bla" We said we also traveled a lot in europe, the hostel with dormitory always had a lot of keys.He was answeres:"oh i knew everyplace of Europe .i'm running hostel of 24 years.i'm professional"...come on!! Check the international youth hostel and other hostels in europe, do they only have one key????!!!!for the dormitory?????If u r so professional how can u saying nothing info to us and the first night we hadn't got hot water after he checked he said because they didn't opened the gas. That's called"professional" ? Unbelievable .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our trip to Goreme was incredible due to assistance of Kemal and Barabara. We arrived from Istanbul after making the 11 hour journey by bus and were greeted by Kemal and Barbara with tea. Our initial plan was to spend three nights in Goreme, but after relaxing in the beautiful courtyard and listening to all of the activities we could do while in the area we decided to stay a fourth night and Kemal graciously accomodated our late request.
During our stay Barbara provided us with a detailed, hand-drawn map of the hiking trails in the area which we used to explore the Red, Rose, Pigeon, and Zemi Valleys on foot. For my brithday Kemal helped us book a beautiful hot air balloon ride and the guides had cake and champagne to help us celebrate afterward - it was truly a birthday I will always cherish. When a group of us in the hotel expressed an interest in hiring a bus to go to the Ilhara Valley to hike, Kemal arranged a private driver and bus to accomodate our group - the total cost per person was less than if we had tried to take public buses or plan the trip on our own.
From the moment you wake up to a delicous breakfast to the time you go to sleep after eating one of Kemal's fabulous dinners your stay with Kemal and Barbara will be memorable and will make you want to stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 14 was a fantastic interior room with a beautiful terra cotta light fixture - we liked it so mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I spent four days at this lovely guest house and could not have been made more welcome. Kemal and Barbara are perfect hosts and are so helpful in advising how to make the most of your time ın Cappodocia. The garden of the guest house is the perfect place for relaxing and the meals cooked by Kemal are the best I've had anywhere ın Turkey.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will certainly return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morges, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

we spent 3 days in Göreme. We had the chance to stay at Kemal's. The owner were helpful, friendly and of good advice. We hope Them many clients, as they really deserve it.

Room Tip: we tried a room in a cave, very unusual and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kemal's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kemal's Guest House

Address: Zeybek Sok. No:3, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable family pension in the heart of the National Park of Cappadocia in the lovely village of Goreme. Here you will find a very peaceful, quiet and comfortable place in the most beautiful hikers paradise of Turkey. Relax in our intimate flower garden; go on guided hikes with Barbara through the fairy tale valleys of Cappadocia; exchange stories with other guests. Every room has its own characteristics: cave-rooms, traditional Ottoman rooms or modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kemal's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kemal's Guest House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kemal's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.