We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Natural Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairy Chimney Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fairy Chimney Inn to your Saves list
Fairy Chimney Inn
Guvercinlik sokak 3/7 | Aydinli Mahallesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Natural Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were not disappointed as we drove up the hill and saw this natural wonder. We spent 3 nights in the Kale rooms which was big, airy and magnificent views over Goreme. This family run hotel cave is welcoming and situated with perfect views overlooking the valleys or Goreme. It is an easy walk into town. Our host Unal who was very informative and helpful before our arrival and most certaily during our stay. Unal definitely made our experience one to remember and was very engaging and happy to share his thoughts. We went to a restaurant on his recommendation called, Topdeck cave restaurant - the food was excellent. We went there on our first and last night. The family run restaurant is a must visit. Book ahead to avoid disappointment. On our 2nd night Unal's sister, Guljan who owns the Fairy Chimney Inn with her husband Anders cooked dinner. It was yummy. the FCI is also a perfect location should you wish to view the hot air balloons from the top terrace. The Goreme open air museum and rose valley is walking distance. Book a tour to visit Ilhara Valley and the underground city of Derinkuyu. A breathtaking experience and much thanks to Unal for his generosity and time. This was definitely the highlight of our trip to Turkey.

Room Tip: Stay in the Kale room if you are a family of 4 or 5. It has a huge lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    12
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
40
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yongin, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our family stayed 3 night at there.
Cave house was restored very well and very beautiful and nature-friendly.

The people were very kind.
The Food was very very delicious.
We were so happy.

The view from the hotes was best !
I Love fairychimneyinn!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Inn is built into and onto the rock formations rising above Goreme and has a wonderful view from the dining patio over a valley of the "fairy chimney" spires. Our room was part-cave, part built out, and was quite spacious, very comfortable and clean, with views of fairy chimneys. The buffet breakfast was very good and you were welcome to ask for eggs made to order in addition to the ubiquitous hard-boiled eggs. Unal was extremely helpful in planning walks and general sight-seeing. The dinners prepared some evenings on request by the owner, Gulcan, were extremely good and well worth the price (we had 2 dinners and each was different and very tasty). A 10 minute walk downhill to the village center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a week at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. It is certainly unusual, built as it is into the local rock, but it has great but charm. We had a large room with a separate wet room, and we can well imagine that the even temperatures created by the rock are a real boon in the full heat of summer. We greatly enjoyed the buffet breakfasts on the sunny terrace, and at the end of the day were glad to make use of the loungers on another terrace just outside our room. Gulkan and Andus run the hotel very smoothly, and the helpful staff booked taxis, etc as a matter of course. Looking over the valley from the hotel is a real treat, and it is amazing to wake in the morning to discover perhaps 50 hot-air balloons drifting past you with just the occasional 'whoosh' from a burner. Fascinating features of the local area are the seemingly endless rock dwellings, churches, monasteries, etc. Almost everyone goes to the very local open air museum, but don't overlook the second one at nearby Zelva - we thought it easily the better of the two. We'd also recommend hiring a car and driver to visit sites such as the underground cities, rather than taking a tour with too-short stops at many sites. In short, this is an unusual and very interesting area, and the Fairy Chimney Inn is a great place to stay to enjoy it.

Room Tip: We chose one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here during a trip around Turkey. I fell in love with Cappadochia and this hotel was part of the reason. Andis and his family were warm, fun, interesting and helpful. Of course, staying in an actual cave hotel is part of the allure, but because this hotel was so well run it made it a better experience. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. The views were awesome! There is a very comfortable patio area to meet and eat with other guests that over looks the fairy chimneys. There is another patio area that gives a great view of sunset. The torture of the stay was that they made their own bread and the fantastic smell just made you hungry. I suggest making sure you have a way to set a phone alarm as there are no clocks in the room, but they will wake you you up if you ask them to. I would highly recommend this hotel for those who want an experience, not just a trip. I also suggest getting up early at least once and watch the sky fill with hot air balloons! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

An EXCELLENT choice if you are after a boutique, interesting, character filled room/cave in Goreme. The views over the valley and town are exceptional. Bit of a walk (10min) up the hill to get there but well worth it for the view and the peace and quiet.

The service was informative and excellent, without being over the top or intrusive. Provided all solutions without a fuss.

Not for you if you are after new 5 star luxury, fittings and opulence. An absolute must if you want a genuine experience of Goreme. Quirky, ingenious, rustic, fascinating.

Twenty five years travel, probably my favorite room ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Fairy Chimney Inn has excellent rooms - actual cave rooms beautifully designed in a way that's a lesson in the aesthetic use of space, wonderful heating in the rooms, clean bathrooms, electric kettle and a basket of different tea-bags/coffee-making things. The rooms have a very authentic homespun flavour with local touches in furnishings, furniture, even the odd cooking utensil on display in the room, everything just right - the only place where I wished I could stay in the hotel longer than I could visit outside and trust me, the outsides of Cappadocia are non-pareil! However "Hasan", the room we had booked, had one or two negative points. Firstly, everything in the room was visible from outside the window even with curtains on both during the day and in the evenings when the lights were on. This was because the window of the room opened to the main entrance to the hotel. Secondly, room walls were so thin that we could easily hear voices from outside especially from within the kitchen, which is just off the room. Thirdly, though Gulcan was kind enough to get breakfast ready for us at 7.15 so we could catch an early plane, the people who gave us the wrapped sandwiches looked really upset that we sat down to eat these sandwiches in the breakfast area - even though we'd told Guljan the previous night that we'd want some tea in the morning before we left at about 7.45! The semi-hurt demeanour didn't lift all morning, which was a bit of a downer because the previous day they'd all been warm and enthusiastic when we came in the morning to leave our bags in the office (we didn't want to check in because it was 8 am and we were more interested in seeing Goreme and anyway they weren't able to find the room key and so on). After so many hotels all over the world, starred and unstarred, one learns to distinguish between genuine kindness and superficial show to guests who are yet to pay the bill. Perhaps Fairy Chimney Inn doesn't really care about visitors, or we don't understand Turkish body language, or the temperature changed suddenly, or we were the colour to be treated with respect or whatever, but this coldness was very puzzling and off-putting - not really how I'd treat someone if I wanted to run a decent establishment.

Room Tip: Get a pick up from the city center - its all uphill and a little bit "far out" in the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairy Chimney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Chimney Inn

Address: Guvercinlik sokak 3/7 | Aydinli Mahallesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carefully restored cave-cone complex from Byzantine times with best views to the unique Cappadocian landscape. Authentic and almost private atmosphere, bordering on the bohemian. International management. World wide first and only cave-haman, WLan and all kind of service & advice. Free tea and sympathy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Fairy Chimney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairy Chimney Hotel Goreme
Fairy Chimney Inn Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairy Chimney Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.