We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cosy Cave New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gedik Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gedik Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Gedik Cave Hotel
Isalli Mah. Cerkez Sokak No.8, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Cosy Cave New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful location with very clean and well furnished rooms. The hosts were absolutely lovely and always happy to help. The breakfast was the best that we had in turkey. Definitely recommend to friends and family!! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We loved our time at the Gedik Cave Hotel. The owners are incredibly helpful and the hotel is beautiful and comfortable. Erdogan and Danielle are fantastic hosts. Erdogan was extremely helpful, from the moment I contacted him online, to the moment we checked out. He answered emailed questions quickly and in detail. When we arrived he made recommendations of routes we could drive to see the most unique formations. Our cave room was a great, unique experience. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. We had reliable, fast wifi in our room. A sumptuous, delicious breakfast was served every day in the common room with a wood burning stove and a gorgeous view. The hotel is on a quiet street, just a short walk from restaurants, stores and the center of town. Goreme is the perfect town to stay in while visiting Cappadocia as it is in the center of the region, near 2 open air museums and numerous hiking and driving routes. We are so glad we found the Gedik Cave Hotel and Erdogan. Staying here and having Erdogan's help assured we had a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Room 3 is large, unique, quiet, warm and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and our three year old daughter. Our daughter was very nicely nicely playing with another little girl in the reception area after breakfast, when suddenly the Dutch woman and Turkish man who run this place acted aggressively to us, saying that the children were giving them headaches and we should go to our rooms! The next evening we had tea in the reception area again, and they told us off for not clearing our dishes! There was a dog wandering around the breakfast area and we were rudely warned that it might bite our child. Even if they offered to let me stay for free, I would refuse to ever set foot in this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The couple, a Turkish man and a Dutch woman, who owned the place were so kind and helpful. They willingly helped with setting up all of our tours/activities in the region. And, some included a discount. The breakfast was fresh and healthy, typical of a Turkish breakfast! The cave rooms were very cozy and the bed was very comfortable! It is also a great location because the center of town can be walked to in less than five minutes! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this great hotel and we enjoyed it very much. Erdogan and his wife were excellent hosts who made us feel at home. They were always kind and helpful. Erdogan also gave us some good advice on hiking in the region, which we really appreciated because currently there are no good maps of the region. Without his help it would have been difficult to go hiking without a guide.
To sum up: we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely. Warm, calm, clean and such a comfy bed.
My husband was unwell while we were in Goreme and although it meant he missed the sights we were so pleased that it happened while we were in this little haven.
Thank you so much too to our hosts. They helped me enjoy myself by giving me an itinerary I could enjoy alone, took my husband to get medication and offered to provide him with food when he couldn't leave the room.
Apart from all that, this small hotel was in great, quiet spot and had all the advantages of a new premises.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When you arrive Goreme Otagar, you can give the hotel name to Tourist Information Center. They will call the Hotel to pick you up.

The room was literally a cave, very special. The room was clean and very warm at night, meanwhile the temperature outside was about 4-5 centigrade.
We stayed for 3 nights. Unfortunately, the boss and his wife were not in a good mood. The boss even roar to someone on the first day we arrived. The boss's wife was not helpful. Her attitude was not friendly. For a instance, we asked her a favor to call our travel agent, which her husband (the boss) booked for us. She refused with only a few words "No! Not my work!".

We talked with the boss about the weird atmosphere in his hotel when we were leaving, he said he did not feel well that days. And he was under lots of pressure. He said: it is very bad for hotel business, I know.

As a whole, the boss is a nice person. He helped us fulfill 3 days Cappadocia trip including the balloon. Hope he has a opportunity to release his pressure, has a leisure time to enjoy the sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gedik Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gedik Cave Hotel

Address: Isalli Mah. Cerkez Sokak No.8, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gedik Cave Hotel is located in the lively town of Göreme, in the center of the region known as Cappadocia (Turkey). Different types of rooms are available to suit your needs as well as budget, including traditional stone rooms and cave rooms. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access, central heating and en suite bathrooms with shower and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Gedik Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gedik Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gedik Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.