We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cave Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ottoman Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ottoman Cave Suites to your Saves list
Ottoman Cave Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Okul Sok. Avcilar Mah. No: 16, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 56 Hotels in Goreme
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Cave Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed only one night, great location and great rooms in the cave. Specially King Suite wonderful room and very well designed. Huge king size bed, big bathroom and nice decoration. People are friendly staff. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    56
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
39
126
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When we ordered the hotel we checked all the best options in Goreme and all reviews. Although we saw two negative reviews for this hotel we decided to "give a chance". And it was far better our expectations.

We lived in real cave room! Since i deal with construction before, I started to check "such a natural" walls to define what type of material was used to imitate natural stone. My husband insisted that it was some type of scratched cement. But as we found out later - it was absolutely real cave room and bathroom. And it is real experience!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a new hotel with that built in the cave. Very good breakfast. If you are looking for a new, clean, special and reasonable price's hotel, then this is the one. At first the water was not hot, after told the hotel manager, they took immediately action and fix the problem. They location also very close to the city center of Goreme, you can find many restaurant easily by walk within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

From first day i arrived in the hotel, the manager welcomed us in the hotel and show all the facillity in the hotel and we are very surprising with the design of the hotel, its 5 stars design and everything is marvellous, all the staff is helpful and friendly and ive us extra time also for take a bath even the check out time is over, if we visit capadocia again we definetelly pick this hotel for our stay

Keep growing and best for ottoman cave suite,

Mohammad oggi - indonesia

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for one night. We arrived at the hotel at 10.45 pm and the person who greeted us showed us the room. We were bowled over. It looked fantastic and the size of it was enormous (i.e. 3 times larger than our Istanbul hotel room). However from there on it was downhill all the way. The biggest problem that we faced was that there was no heating and with the temperature outside being about 2 degrees (and I guess slightly warmer in the room), we had to quickly shower and put on our clothes and jump into bed and hold each other for warmth. Before this of course, I had called the reception and asked whether the heating was on and the person at reception said that it was on. Bearing in mind that we had to be up at 5am for our 6am pickup and it was already past 11pm, I decided not to kick up a fuss. To put it simply, we froze our b**ts off.

To make matters worse, there the person at reception did not show us around the room and there were no written instructions whatsoever about the room. So we struggled with questions like:

1. How do we increase the heating? (We could not as it was operated centrally)
2. How do we switch off the light? (We ultimately found could be switched off with a switch with the figure of a bell on it, i.e. a doorbell switch, which I thought was to summon room service or something like that)
3. Where is the kettle? We never found it
4. Do they not provide any drinking water in the room? We had to go and ask for a bottle of water, though I must admit that they did not charge us for it.
5. How do we access english tv channels? We only found out that they had english tv channels when we were checking out and asked the receptionist how come they only had turkish language channels.

I would except a hotel to have all these matters addressed either in some sort of easy guide that hey would leave in every room OR for the person who guided us to the room to explain to us. I have traveled a fair bit and stayed at 5 star and 3 star hotels and this was without exception the worst experience I ever had with any hotel.

It is a pity because the room looked fantastic. My view is that the management needs to work the kinks out of the system and get staff who can converse in english and are concerned that their guests have everything that they need and are comfortable. The person who greeted us had limited english language skills and was definitely not interested in our comfort and was more interested in going back to his television program which we had interrupted. To be fair, there was a young man serving us breakfast in the morning who was shocked to know that we were freezing the night before and who said that he would immediately look into the matter and rectify it. How I wish that he had been the person we met the night before. However, that was of little consolation as were off that very day back to Istanbul.

On a closing note, the publicly accessible bathrooms next to reception needs some work too. It was so very, very dimly lit and we found them to be unclean (though the bathroom in our room was excellent, in fact that was the warmest place and we had the best hot shower of our trip to Turkey).

Not going to forget the Ottoman Cave Suites in a hurry!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottomancave, Owner at Ottoman Cave Suites, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for sharing your thoughts and comments with us. We are very sorry you had such an unpleasant experience here, but I'm afraid that it was to a great extent just a misunderstanding on your part.

First of all, when you arrived at 10.45 pm, our manager Cengiz, who received you and who speaks excellent English, wanted to show you around and give you information, but you refused, saying you were too tired and wanted to go to bed immediately.

You said you called the reception about if the heating was on. If you had said you were cold, the manager would have immediately come and fixed it.

I'm really surprised you could not find the kettle, which was on top of the minibar or water, which was in the minibar together with several other beverages, both soft and alcoholic, all of which are included in the room price. Yet, you did manage to find the TV, under which the minibar and the kettle are. We have only 30 channels, so finding the English ones should not be too difficult if you have used TV before.

As for finding the light switches, there is one next to the door and two more on both sides of the bed, as in all hotels. No customer has had any difficulty in finding them yet.

You might be right about the lighting in the public bathroom, we'll certainly look into it. We do clean it several times a day, but during breakfast time practically all our customers use it and we can't clean it after each single person.

We are very glad you enjoyed the shower and we sincerely hope that you'll come back to Ottoman Cave Suites again in the future because we would like you to leave us with only with the best memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

It was really great place. Thanks Mr. Cengiz for all your hospitality.
This is my 3th time to been cappadocia, this year we choosen Ottoman Cave Suites and it was really good chooses. Hoge cave rooms, big badrooms, best view, tv and excellent breakfast. Also free information desk and they organize really good tours.
Mr. Cengiz you make really lovely hotel thanks again next time wanna take my daughters.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a very new hotel with clean , fresh and modern luxury cave rooms. I looked at most of the other top rated cave hotels in Goreme and found the Ottoman cave rooms to be one of the best for the price at which they were being offered. The rooms was large and luxurious which is rare for a cave hotel. The lighting , decor and furniture in the room definitely give a feeling of troglodyte luxury. The bathrooms were large with double showers . Note this is a very new hotel still with some construction going on during the daytime (not an issue) . It needs a few kinks to be ironed out with time . For example there was a draft of cold air coming from the door during the first day we were there . I told the manager Cengiz and he had the insulation fixed by the time we were back in the evening. The radiator needed to be cranked up to keep the large room warm in the chill Jan night at Goreme. The restaurant area where they serve breakfast did not seem to have a heat source except for the fireplace and of the 3 days we were there it was fired up only once. It was running on a lean staff probably due to the low season.

However , these are all minor things that can be easily fixed as the Hotel gets some age on it and management pays attention to ensuring guest comfort . The key thing is that the rooms are awesome, the location is great within walking distance to the Main Street of Goreme town and the manager Cengiz was doing what he can to be helpful.

I am happy I picked Ottoman cave suites for our 3 night stay when visiting Goreme.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 56 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#4 of 56 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 56 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#20 of 56 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#5 of 56 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ottoman Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ottoman Cave Suites

Address: Okul Sok. Avcilar Mah. No: 16, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ottoman Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary tea and coffee await you as you check into your room. Our rooms are all individually decorated to capture the Ottoman-style ambiance throughout the hotel. Being a cave hotel our rooms come in all different shapes and sizes adding more character than any chain hotel. A mix of classical meets contemporary; we have a range of cozy and comfortable rooms to suit all budgets. You may choose from either a splendid classic double en-suite room or our stylish cave rooms with super sized bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ottoman Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ottoman Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ottoman Cave Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.