We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining in a family home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocak Restaurant

Ocak Restaurant
Aydinli Mahallesi ,Cakmakli Sokak No:22 | Goreme / Nevsehir, Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 538 373 7485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our customers are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining in a family home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was going to title this review "like dining in a family home". But on reflection it is more accurate to say that it was actually dining in a family home - we were greeted warmly by Ethem and his wife, Mishu, who treated us as house guests throughout; the couple's daughters were sat doing their homework on a table on one side of the room and occasionally chipped in to help their mother out with the English language. The family do not appear to have employed any hired help and have prepared all of the food themselves.

Mishu's cooking is the best we have sampled in 10 days in Turkey, slow cooked in an oven which sits in the middle of the simply but tastefully decorated dining area. She really should consider opening a Turkish traditional cooking school. It really was superb, and not to be missed. The menu is simple - we were offered a choice between lamb and beef testi kebabs, and some delicious soup to start. Vegetarian options were also available; at one point Mishu came over to offer us to try a little of her cabbage-based dish just because she wanted us to taste it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, as locally authentic as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is a bit hard to find (up a long road) but worth searching out. Wonderful to eat home cooked food here! Great to soak up the ambiance....you'll feel like you are dropping in for dinner at a friend's house ;) The bread is home baked, and the soup is awesome!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Turkish Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Go there and feel the Turkish hospitality. Delicious traditional local food. Owner Ethem and his wife are one of their kinds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic and awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ocak Pansion and Restaurant for 5 nights and the food, service and atmosphere was so wonderful we never even considered going anywhere else for meals. Ethem has a tandoori oven and between this oven and the clay pots of delicious dishes his wife creates each meal is a treat. All the food is prepared and cooked right here. The restaurant has an intimate outdoor area, a large patio with a lovely view, and an indoor room that is lovely and warm on chilly nights.
We have loved the food in Turkey but this is far above what we have had so far.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Easily our best restaurant in Turkey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

At Ocak, you'll be welcome by a whole family. Don't get me wrong it's not just a family run business, you're literally feeling at home.

The lovely couple will make you feel comfortable at first glance and you'll enjoy on of the best meal you've ever had in Turkey, in a beautiful authentic atmosphere.

If I'm not wrong that's my first review, and Ocak restaurant deserves it well. If you're in Goreme, you cannot miss it. That's that simple. Forget all the nice touristic places you've experienced till now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.