We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TRADITIONAL FOOD AND GREAT PEOPLE, THE CLOSEST YOU CAN EVER GET TO LOCAL FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocak Restaurant

Ocak Restaurant
Aydinli Mahallesi ,Cakmakli Sokak No:22 | Goreme / Nevsehir, Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 538 373 7485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our customers are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT TRADITIONAL FOOD AND GREAT PEOPLE, THE CLOSEST YOU CAN EVER GET TO LOCAL FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

You can eat great food here, traditional recepies that are different from most of the resturants in town, cooked with pride in a wood oven. The owners are great people, very friendly , that like to share alot.
Everyday the menu is different based on what's fresh in the market. DELICIOUS!
On top of that they also have room for guest and a terrific view of the pinnacles from the terrace. The restaurant is up hill, very quiet and out of the turisty and busy part of town. 10 out of 10!.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    7
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic food, authentic hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wow! What a great, unexpected find in Goreme! I was on a tour with some friends and caught the hand-written menu out of the corner of my eye. I returned that evening with friends. All of us were completely impressed with the meal and the staff at Ocak. We sat on cushions around a low, round table. There was no menu other than what was advertised outside. We sat and received one course after another -- all were outstanding. We got to choose between beef and lamb kabap. I chose the beef and loved it. The bread was warm and delicious, fresh out of the oven. We were shown the fire pit outdoors where the soup was cooked earlier in the day. I felt like I was in someone's home, eating an authentic Turkish meal served up with the best of local hospitality. I highly recommend it. The restaurant is a bit out of the way, so be sure to ask for good directions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish cuisine experience with lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this gem and felt we had stepped away from all the tourist bumpf and found a genuine Turkish restaurant with lovely hosts and delicious home cooked food! The menu is set (and made that day) and the 5 courses cost about 40 tl per person. We had a lovely evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We met the owners by chance, their generosity and kindness enticed us back to eat at their family run restraunt. Our expectations were exceeded. We both thought that the tandor soup and lamb pottery kabaps were delicious. The meal came with fresh bread, home grown organic salad and rice. The experience was fantastic, it felt like we were eating traditional food with a local family. It was well worth getting off the main road to enjoy the beautiful and peaceful setting amongst the fairy chimineys with genuine people. This restraunt is not to be missed, if you came here to experience turkey (rather than tourism).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Here you can taste the real pottery kebab. Unlike other places, they have a traditional, old oven where they cook the kebab for 6 hours. So, u have to make a reservation at least six hours before. Lovely, family restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocak Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.