We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe I'll appreciate it in 5 years” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes

Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes
Goreme Kavsagi | Ortahisar Kasagasi, Goreme 50650 , Turkey
0258 271 40 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 60 Activities in Goreme
Type: Performances
Attraction details
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Maybe I'll appreciate it in 5 years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

You are sitting in on a religious ceremony that holds great significance to the participants. I personally found it quite boring and over priced. Watch it on u-tube and save the 35€.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    40
    10
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Whirling and Chanting to reach out to the Unkown Universe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

For many years I have had a small statue of a whirling devish sitting close to my writing desk. As an engineer who once had a pair of ballet tights in his brief case I was intrigued with the fluid shape of the dance. A visit to Cappadocia last September brought me to the masoleum of the Mevlana Celaleddin-Ruma who was the founder of Sufism, the wonderfully form of contemplation that gives a peaceful cloak to the religion of Islam. It was not until many kilometers of travel did I find in the vicinity of Urgup and underground cave where I was able to see the Sema,or whirling Devish ceremony. Sema has seven parts and each part symbolizes a stage of the mystic journey to perfection called ascension(Mirac in Turkish).
Th evening begins with pipe, drums and a zither-like instrument. The dancers appear and then they led by a sort of conductor they start to dance, twsiting and flowing with arms slowly rising. They become engaged in an out-of-body experience. As one who has danced and acted and meditated I found myself entranced. My film maker and journalist son Nick has found that the art of meditation in the Sufi tradition has enaabled him to cope with the machinations of our fast changing world. I have always sought to find a way towards peace and to help to counter our headlong rush into crashing our world into total havoc in seeking a balance of man with nature in the world of climatic impacts. The Sema ceremony ends with aprayer for peace of the souls of all Prophets and all believers. To be able to see this ceremony was a very special highlight of an amazing holiday.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I highly recommend seeing this ceremony even if you have seen whirling dervishes before. The underground cave atmosphere is nice and the ceremony is truly a religious ceremony and demonstrates both the whirling aspect as well as the music, greetings and sayings that go with the spiritual ritual of the dervishes. It is special to be able to have this shared with all interested in spirituality, Rumi, religion, self expression, etc.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
834 reviews 834 reviews
219 attraction reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
579 helpful votes 579 helpful votes
“Real One is in Konya”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This 'performance' is for the armchair tourists who want to have a quick sample of the local 'culture' without getting into the depths. It barely serves its purpose. A whirling dervish ceremony is one of the most intriguing and spiritual experiences, but you will not get it here. It is well organized (pickup, drop, proper seating, sherbet etc.), but lasts for less than an hour, and is over before you get a chance to get into the mood. Also, be careful what you are charged for this. We paid 15 euros per person including transport, the person next to me was charged 30 euros! Head to Konya to experience the real one.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoian, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Watching the Dervishes is somewhat akin to a religious experience. I had no idea it would be so meditative, so moving. Sure, it's done for the tourists, but it appears to be the best (only?) way to see them.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.