We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emily's Cave House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emily's Cave House to your Saves list
Emily's Cave House
Gaferli Mahallesi Muze Cad. Goynuk Sokak No:12, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 69 Goreme B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had a great time in this small hotel. It is perfectly situated , walking distance from every place in Goreme, and transportation available for every other sightseeing place in capadoccia. The room was impecable, clean, cosy and modern considering it is inside a cave. The staff was absolutely 5 stars, friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend, and if i ever go back to Capadoccia i will stay there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our stay at Emily's Cave House earlier this month was, simply put, amazing. The location is great, on a quiet side street but still just a very short walk to anywhere in Goreme. We stayed in one of the cave rooms, and it was fantastic. Huge and well-lit, with an enormous bathroom and shower. It's not an exaggeration to say that a normal-sized person could stretch out their arms in the shower and turn 360 degrees without hitting any walls, at least in our room. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Perhaps the biggest highlights of our stay at Emily's though, were the people who worked there. The couple who run it, Mehmet and Esen, are two of the nicest, friendliest, overall best people we met during our time in Turkey. They were always available to answer our questions and suggested things to do during our free day in Cappadoccia. Mehmet, who is from Goreme, was a valuable source of information. On our last evening in Cappadoccia we had a late flight back to Istanbul, but even after checking out in the morning, when we returned in the evening we were given the option to take a shower in our old room, and we were invited to have dinner with them. Bottom line: book a room at Emily's Cave House and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were told that this property was fairly new and it was recommended by the Istanbul travel agency that planned our trip through Turkey. It was very well located but was on a street that was full of contruction of a new building. It was a very dusty walkup from the road to the hotel - pulling bags was hard and it was quick slippery in places. There are only five rooms, and all were caves located in chimneys. Ours was spacious but lacked simple things like bedside tables and somewhere to hang or place your clothes. The bathroom was large but was very dim and my husband found it hard to shave. It was interesting to sleep in a cave but I did wake up each morning very stuffed up - perhaps the dust from the rock. The room was cool which was a relief from the heat. The breakfast was excellent and the owners very attentive and friendly. There were great views of the town from the upper deck and also the hot air balloons flew overhead of us each morning which was very cool. My two complaints are: all the staff (owner's included) smoked, and in the common areas. I know that it is almost mandatory to smoke in Turkey but none of the guests at the time we were there smoked and I found that annoying, and, although it was handy for guests to be able to hang thier basin laundry from the upper deck I thought that having sheets etc. from the rooms was unsightly and that all laundry (guest & hotel) could be located somewhere else perhaps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed two nights with Emily's cave house in mid-October. They have cute cave rooms and everything here has been wonderful.: big bathroom with plentiful of hot water, helpful and friendly staff and owners, amazing terrace with hearty Turkish breakfast every morning. Esin's melamen and gozleme are so delicious that we both still miss them. Maureen and Mehmet have been very helpful in recommending places and restaurants around the city. We wish them all the best in running this new cave hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchengladbach, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The most beautiful hotel and nicest staff in Cappadokia! Lovely terraces ,amazing cave rooms, freshly renovated, with the loving eye and hand of the owners. I enjoyed my time in this great familyrun place and hope to come back one day. Not to forget: great breakfast- and thanks for lots of coffee in the morning! ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My travelling companion & I stayed 3 nights @ Emily's in Oct 2012. I could of not asked for a better place to stay!! Esin, Mehmet & Maureen made us feel very welcome. The rooms were simple, but well appointed, plus a shower to die for!! Breakfasts were delicious, & view from the balcony beautiful. Ideally situated, & easy walk into the town of Goreme.Very friendly, gracious & generious hosts!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our experience at Emily's Cave house was excellent.
We spend 4 nights during October 2012 and the owners did everything possible to make our visit perfect.
The breakfast was amazing , the room was clean and the terrace very cozy.
The moment we arrived were offered te and coffe , followed by a personal talk on what we could do in the area.
Emily's cave house is within walking distance to many sights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emily's Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily's Cave House

Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Muze Cad. Goynuk Sokak No:12, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emily's Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily's Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emily's Cave House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.