We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Restaurant

Sultan Restaurant
Goreme Saglik Sk. No:2, Goreme 50100, Turkey
03842712226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Good
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

While traveling in Goreme, some locals directed us to this restaurant. And they were not wrong! Great food for reasonable prices, not to mention kind and helpful service. Dont't miss the Sultan!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    39
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had an enjoyable meal here, and with so many options in the area, it's hard to decide. If you happen to be in Goreme city, it's a very good place to be.

Service: very helpful and polite, especially Mr Ozgur - the chef and owner.

Food: Everything we ate, we enjoyed. Well seasoned food, tasty and filling. Portion sizes were large and not too expensive. The kebab was really good. Honestly we enjoyed it all. We ate there every single day while in Goreme.

Decor/Atmosphere: Cozy and well decorated.

Overall: Had a good time, good meal, and enjoyed the food completely. Really no negatives; we totally recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gebze, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Six stars out of five”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately, the Sultan doesn't have the best reputation in Goreme amongst the locals, but that was before the new ownership took over. The point is, don't let any locals steer you wrong - it won't be their fault if you miss one of Goreme's finest restaurants. If you like good food (Turkish, Italian, even some Asian) and good wine, excellent service and reasonable prices, the new Sultan is for you, plus they serve wine and beer. Four of us had four different things: the thrifty one had the set-price chicken kebap plate (with soup included), his companion had the lamb kebap, my husband had an Asian noodle dish, and I had the best pizza I have had in thirty years, anywhere. None of us would share, we were that happy with our food. Some of us had wine and the entire tab came to less than $15 US each, including a nice tip. Ozgur is one of the owners and also a well-trained, experienced chef, and he is not afraid to try new recipes. I suggest going soon because I think this place is going to be huge.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices, honest staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our group was wandering down the road and were attracted by Sultan's upstairs seating which had a bit of a view of Goreme, and the reasonable prices (average of 12 - 20TL per main). Also they have pottery kebabs (your food is cooked in a clay pot which you break open before you eat) which we were keen to try.
Overall the waiter was very friendly, the food was good, and it came pretty quickly. We had a lovely meal. I had some of the excellent Cappadocia red wine and left in a pretty happy state, but also left my iPhone, driver's license, oyster card, and bank card in a bundle together on the table! I returned about an hour later when I realised, and we relieved to find the waiter had all my valuable(!) belongings intact behind the front desk. Not only did we have a great meal with great service, I was very thankful for the waiter's honesty. Would recommend for a pleasant dinner in Cappadocia.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We ate twice at Sultan Restaurant and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, friendly service and good food. The mezze plate was excellent as was everything else we tried.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sultan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sultan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.