We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goreme National Park

Goreme National Park
Goreme, Turkey
+90 384 271 3545
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Goreme National Park like an insider
Top Rated
$240*
and up
2-Day Cappadocia Trip from Kayseri
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I don't know of anywhere quite like Goreme National Park. The rock formations are quite well known from photographs, but the history of its inhabitants is equally fascinating.

We went there with Shah Mat travel, whose guides really added to our experience of visiting this UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,110
    253
    45
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Take a guided tour and see many different places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

By getting a 6 hour guided group tour from Peerless Excursions in Urgup we were able to comfortably see the Goreme National park, the town of Urgup, have a typical Turkish lunch, visit a factory that makes ceramics and one that makes silk rugs by hand, and many other scenic areas. Sibel Ergan was our guide and she speaks English and Italian and can discuss history, geology and the amazing sights of the Cappadocia area. The Silk Road passed through here, and the history goes back to 3000 years before Christ to the Hittites. The van was air conditioned and we could see everything on our list for a great price... highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Cappadocia is a very different experience in itself. Goreme National Park is part of the same unique experience.
One has to walk a lot and its advisable that you take the audio guide - ofcourse each cave has a write up right outside but its nicer to listen to each painting on the wall described vividly as you stand infront of one.
The Dark Church is a must visit - the beautiful drawings on the walls are most interesting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a wonderful place, but be warned: there is a lot of walking and climbing and bending down to get into the individual churches. I had had foot surgery 4 1/2 months earlier and I found it very difficult, but wouldn't have missed it for the world.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

History, amazing old cities, and an incredible natural scenario. To undertand how primite cultures develop civilizations.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goreme National Park also viewed

 

Been to Goreme National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goreme National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.