We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, staff even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heybe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Heybe Hotel to your Saves list
Heybe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Aydinli-Orta Mah. Uzundere Cad. No:25 | Goreme Cappadocia, Goreme, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, staff even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Heybe for 5 days in late May 2012 and have nothing but positives to say about the hotel and staff. The only thing I'm disappointed with is that I missed out on posting the first review for Heybe after requesting TripAdvisor add them several weeks ago! Sorry Mert!

Where to start?
If you're wondering why there are so few reviews for Heybe, it isn't because Heybe is a new hotel, but because it has recently been taken over by the owners of Kelebek, Sultan Cave Suites (and a number of other hotels) and old reviews have been removed from TripAdvisor. If any new reviews pop up of stays prior to April 2012, take them with a grain of salt - the new ownership and management are obviously working hard to bring the hotel up to a higher standard. Although there were a few minor maintenance hangovers in the hotel from the previous ownership they were being rectified as we stayed there - things like door latches being adjusted, taps being replaced etc. The new manager was very solicitous of feedback about the facilities and quick to act in fixing even the slightest thing.There were also some more major alterations or repairs going on downstairs, with tradesmen coming and going through a service entrance with cement blocks and sacks of concrete, however these works were obviously well managed and we were never disturbed by any noise.

Location:
Easy to find near the centre of town, on one of the major streets at the bottom of the valley (not up a steep hill like many Goreme hotels). If you have a lot of luggage, or are travelling with a baby (or both as we were) this is a significant plus.
The location is nice and quiet - no road noise (no through traffic up this valley) and it's not too close to the mosque either for those who dread the early morning wake-up calls to prayer.

Rooms:
Heybe is not a cave hotel, but this isn’t a bad thing; rooms are well ventilated, bright and airy. It still has a very Cappadocian feel as the rooms are built of cave rock with some beautiful detailing.
The rooms have radiators for heating in the winter, and air-conditioning for cooling in the summer (neither of which we used because the temperature in spring is perfect to leave the windows open).

We were advised the hotel had just replaced all their mattresses after the change in ownership a month earlier. The mattress in our room was certainly comfortable and looked new so we have no reason to doubt other rooms are any different.

The standard of cleanliness left nothing to be desired. Housekeeping were also helpful with the needs that come with having a baby, providing extra linen and towels. The hotel also provided a cot and bedding for our baby at no extra charge.

Rooms have a smallish LCD TV, with a good selection of local and international satellite channels. I don't normally watch TV on holidays, but did catch the end of a stage of the Giro d'Italia on Eurosport live after my 9 month old baby tried to eat the remote control and the TV came on! Serendipity...

Staff:
Although the rooms are nice, what really makes this hotel a cut above the rest is the staff!

Mert (the hotel manager) and his team are simply outstanding in the level of service provided, far exceeding the expectations at this price level. You couldn't do any better having your own personal concierge. He's also a genuinely nice guy to have a conversation with if you're lucky enough to catch him when he's not too busy working.

Mert was always ready to provide advice and assistance, whether making a restaurant reservation for us, giving us tips on the best places to go walking, the best company to go ballooning with, or actually giving us a 30 minute lift in the hotel car to the beginning of a hike on the far outskirts of town. He also arranged car hire for us (and finding a car with a functional baby seat in Cappadocia is no mean feat), having the car delivered to the hotel and allowing us to put the car on our hotel tab when we didn't have the cash on hand to pay (and for the cynics, the rate we were given was as good as any we were told by other travellers). At the end of our stay Mert organised a free shuttle to Nevsehir airport even though we were not expecting it (this is now advertised on their website for stays of 4 days or longer, but we didn't know this at the time).

Despite being part of a chain (or group) of hotels, there is a family feel to the way the hotel is run. It was very nice to see the staff (management and housekeeping) sitting down to breakfast or coffee together and interacting as friends as well as colleagues. Happy staff = happy guests.

The Hotel facilities:
The indoor swimming pool swimming pool is available to all guests, and the hotel also offers sauna, hamam (turkish bath), steam room and spa services offering various types of massage etc. My wife and I each had a massage in the hamam - although the price is higher than at a public hamam, it does entitle you to use all the spa facilities for the duration of your stay.

Breakfast:
Well above average with a huge selection of cereals, dried fruits, nuts, yoghurt, olives, bread and cake, savoury dishes, omelettes cooked to order, fresh filter coffee and tea. The breakfast room is on the top floor and has nice views over the valley. There are also outdoor tables on the terrace.

Overall, we heartily recommend the hotel to other travellers and say a big thank you to Mert and his team!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear dsut4392,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our services on offer, the breakfast, the wellness center. Your comments are so detailed and involves a lot of departments in the hotel. I have shared your review with the team and they are all very happy to receive such a complacency comment and we are all very motivated.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Mert KURA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    51
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
115
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Heybe is definitely different from most of the boutique hotels in Goreme for one thing: it’s not a cave hotel as most of them are or claim to be. BUT, that did not make my stay with Heybe any less of a Cappadocian experience! It offers the modern amenity one might need for vacation (swimming pool, Spa,Turkish Bath, as well as rooftop cafe and terrace/garden bars) and convenience on one hand, and does not lack for local hospitality and village experience on the other hand.

It’s located at the exit of Pigeon Valley. The hotel provides complimentary rides to Pigeon Valley (and others, of course!); it’s absolutely wonderful that the hotel is just right there at the end of a few hours hiking, where one can continue to admire the loveliness of the village, local passer-bys, and fellow travellers, while recovering from the fatigue and sipping Turkish tea (as much as one could take without becoming sleepless at night) at the garden of the hotel! Another big plus (in particular for someone with a very bad sense of direction such as me) is that it is very easy to find, situated on one of the main roads in town center (yes, there is a “town center”, despite the size of Goreme).

Above all, Heybe stands out for the diversity of its staff and the quality of the services. Mert, the hotel manager, speaks fluent English, which makes the communication stress-free, obviously. Having been educated/worked abroad for more than 10 years and travelled extensively himself, he understands perfectly the requests/needs of guests of different cultures. He goes out his way to make sure all his guests have a pleasant stay, pay every attention to personal needs, and ensure that they have an unforgetable Capppdocian experience (with impartial and thoughtful recommendation of tours and what to do in the area). Nico, another staff on the team, speaks very good English and, on top of that, is fluent in Dutch and German; make sure you have a chance to sit with him and chat - he has had an interesting life and lots of stories to tell!

And the Goreme experience would not be complete without Cete, a constant presence at Heybe besides the staff! He is the older brother of the hotel owner and does not speak any English (or any other language than Turkish actually). Nonetheless, he shows hospitality to guests in his own way, with the lovable Turkish (or, rather, Goreme) rawness; for example, he told me (with Mert/Nico’s translation, of course), without hesitation, not to spend money on unnecessary stuff here, or to put on warm clothes (so that I would not get sick)!

Here you have it: a hotel stay with both modern and Cappadocian flavor!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear nycstranger,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Heybe Hotel. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our facilities, our service and our team. I have shared your comments with them and they are all very pleased. Our focus is to deliver Turkish Hospitality to our guests from all around the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

From the second that I walked in the door and was greeted by Matt, the experience here was top-notch. The hotel is in a great location to walk anywhere in Goreme, as well as access to nature walks in the valley. The room is clean, comfortable (great beds!), and well-maintained. Staying at the hotel gives you unlimited access to the hamam, steam, sauna, and giant indoor pool (although cold!) I had a great soap massage here. Matt was friendly, warm, and went out of his way to make us feel at home. We stayed here six nights, and was offered coffee and tea often by Matt. The breakfast is amazing- beautiful food, beautiful view.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room for ultimate quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Wainiha,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at Heybe Hotel. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with the room, breakfast and our services on offer. I have shared your comments with our team and they are pleased that they have exceeded your expectations and made you feel home a away from home.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heybe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heybe Hotel

Address: Aydinli-Orta Mah. Uzundere Cad. No:25 | Goreme Cappadocia, Goreme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heybe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a spa & wellness centre with a large indoor pool and a Turkish bath, Heybe Hotel is situated in the centre of Goreme. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all the 33 rooms. Air-conditioned rooms are well designed and include an LCD TV. A minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer and a shower or bath are provided. The hotel’s terrace restaurant offers a wide range of dishes. Breakfast is also served on the terrace with indoor and outdoor seating options. There are 3 bars, situated in the garden, lobby and on the terrace, serving refreshing drinks. Guests can benefit from sauna and massage room facilities at Heybe Hotel. Laundry services and a tour desk are available. Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 40 km from the hotel. A shuttle service can be arranged upon request with an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Heybe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heybe Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heybe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.