We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zelve Open Air Museum

Fougeres, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lovely caves in a very tranquil spot. Has far less tourist than the Goreme equivalent, or it certainly did when we visited in the morning.

A tour guide is a bonus, or you would just wander around without having a clue what everything is about as very few signs exist (that is the only reason I did not give 5 stars).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    81
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Different Fairy Chimneys than the ones at Goreme Open Air Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a nice stop to see different fairy chimneys with their "tops" still on. The parking lot is nearby and the formations are easily accessible by foot so people with mobility issues can still visit. Like most sights, the requisite souvenir stands and snack places are available on-site. A man with a camel asks for donations if you want a photo and I saw several people riding the camel. I don't recall seeing our tour guide paying a fee for Zelme.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not so famous as Goreme Open Air museum but in my opinion more beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not so famous as Goreme Open Air museum but in my opinion more beautiful. Not so many people, smaller fee, but my wife and I liked it very much. We could have had a better weather for taking photos but anyway - it was worth coming there

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great guide Omer who painstakingly answered all our questions. The Museum was very crowded but Omer was able to guide through it all very well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Enjoyed the views and the frescos in the rock churches. Best to read up about them so they make more sense. Greek orthadox has a bit different story to the normal one. Extra charges for some rock churches but we only went into the main ones in with ticket. Area around the o.a. Museum are free and superb views to photograph.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelve Open Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to Zelve Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zelve Open Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.