We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Safran Cave Hotel

Save Saved
You added Safran Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Safran Cave Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Orta Mahalle Kagani Yolu Sokak No : 3, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 61 Goreme B&B and Inns
oz
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Safran Cave and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a very short walk to the centre of Goreme, so is ideally placed. The room was comfortable and clean. The people are so nice and so helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. Murat gave us great advice and helpful hints and booked our balloon flight, and also airport shuttle. He recommended that instead of doing a tour of the area with a tour group, that Erdem give us a private tour. We did this and thoroughly enjoyed the day - Erdem was a great tour guide and good fun. This was far better than going with a tour group. We highly recommend Safran Cave as a great place to stay when visiting the Cappadocia area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We only stayed at Safran Cave Hotel for one night, but at the end, we wished we were there for more time. The staff was very helpful . The manager, Murat, suggested specific places of interest, and arranged a private tour of Cappadocia for us. The hotel also arranged for a shuttle bus to/from Kayseri airport. We took a Butterfly Balloons tour on Murat's suggestion. Overall, it was an excelleny experience. The breakfast was great too. We are very glad to have stayed at Safran Cave hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and loved every minute of it. It has a real family B&B feel about it.

The hotel is an old home that has been redeveloped into a cave hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortable if not a little dark. We had a ground floor suite that we spend all three afternoons laying around after the morning doing the various tourist activities. The owners son gladly drove us for less than market rates to the underground city and we where treated to home cooked dinner by the mother of the family. An excellent cook and a very nice meal that again was less then you would pay in town.

The manager and family interpreter is helpful and will gladly sit down for a cup of tea to discuss yourplans for the next day. As it is a small establishment there is a certain personal feel to the place.

All up we paid €309 for three nights with breakfast,airport transfers both ways, dinner for two and a tour to the underground city. Greg value.

I would recommend to anyone to stay here regardless of your plans for your stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a really perfect if your looking for all the obvious with the personal touches. I stayed there last week for 3 nights with my husband, we ate every evening in the courtyard garden which was relaxing & intimate, the food was really great & we were invited into the kitchen to see it being prepared for us, everything was fresh from the owners garden or sauced locally, I can't express how delighted we were with the helpfulness of the family who assisted with excursions etc as we were limited on time, we will go back next year & would recommend it to anyone looking for something in the area, well run family business in, great location,
Many thanks to Mehmet (dad) Dilek (mum & head chief) Erdem, Omer,Burak (son's) & Murat family interpreter & general Pa. best wishes & well done Anna & Charlie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is great, the rooms are beautiful, and the breakfasts are good. Also, it is in a great spot for going to the attractions in Cappadoica. The rooms are cheap, service is great, everything is amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely hosts, only wish we could speak Turkish to express to them how much we felt we received genuine hospitality. The omelets at breakfast were awesome!
We spent 2 nights upstairs at the back in room 106 which was clean and comfortable with adequate natural light from windows overlooking a quiet side street. It was not a "cave" room and this was fine with us.
Our third night was downstairs in the honeymoon room 101. This room was romantically decorated ( quite amusing for us after 37 years marriage!). It had suitably subdued lighting for honeymooners but was a bit too dark for our aging eyes. It was more like a "cave" room.The room opened onto the courtyard and outdoor breakfast area so would be a little noisy for those inclined to sleep in.
Despite these minor criticisms we would stay here again if we return to Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent 2 days in capadocia this April traveling around Turkey. Capadocia was one of the highlights. The hotel was very nice, very friendly stuff, perfect place. I didn't really feel like a caveman with all the luxary around, but was not much upset about it))

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Safran Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safran Cave Hotel

Address: Orta Mahalle Kagani Yolu Sokak No : 3, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safran Cave Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safran Cave is a small family-run hotel in the very centre of Goreme. All the 8 rooms are inside caves in what used to be a family house. At Safran Cave you can experience the Turkish hospitality at its best. The place has a very special atmosphere, it is impossible to describe it, you just have to come here and experience it. The hotel staff are happy to help you with all arrangements and organize activities and tours for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Safran Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safran Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safran Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.