We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best days in our life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walking Mehmet/ Private Day Tours

Walking Mehmet/ Private Day Tours
Goreme, Turkey
+90 384 271 2064
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 60 Activities in Goreme
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best days in our life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

According to many sources, Mehmet is one of the best walking guides in Capadoccia. He sure lives up to his reputation. His fee is €80 for a day tour; no matter how many persons in your group (since there were 5 of us, we could spread the costs). The duration and distance of the walking tour will depends on your interests, endurance, weather and chemistry between you and him. During our walk, he told us that the longest walk he ever guided was 8 hours and the shortest was only 2 hours. We are proud to be his first Indonesian guests and broke the record: our walking tour was more than 12 hours!

Mehmet and Saki, his Labrador, took us exploring the valleys, cave churches, doves’ coves of Capadoccia. He also explained the history, architecture and geological conditions of the region. He said learned the knowledge from his guests who came from various backgrounds and professions (among others are geologists, architects, historians, photographers, even prime ministers). His English is fluent. His personality is strong, pleasant and outspoken—making him a wonderful travel companion. Our discussion during the walk was not limited to Capadoccia, but also range from life philosophy, existentialism, politics, economics, cultures and many casual jokes. Saki is a fun and playful dog, a perfect match for him.

After 8 hours of walk, Mehmet saw that we were still excited. So he kindly gave us an encore. He took us to watch the stunning Capadoccia sunset whilst enjoying a glass of raki (Turkish liquor). And our day became perfect!

Mehmet was born and grew in Capadoccia. He has been a walking guide since he was 28 years old. He loves the region he called home. Walking for him is a meditation. He always ends his day watching Capadoccia sunset. Mehmet repeatedly said he is one of the luckiest men in the world because he can live in a place he love and making a living from doing what he love (that is walking and making friends from all over the world). Of course, no one can deny that. We were one friend richer at the end of the tour.

Needless to say, walking with the Walking Mehmet was one of the highlights of our 14 days Turkey trip and it became one of the best days in our life.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much better than tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My friends and I stayed in cappadocia for 4 days. We did all the standard activities: north tour, south tour, cooking class, hot air balloon. Walking with mehmet was my favorite day.

Goreme national park is beautiful, wild, otherworldly, and relatively unspoiled. Mehmet knows the windy trails well - which caves actually have churches in them, which pigeon caves are suitable to scale, how not to get lost - and he's funny and candid to boot. His dog, who comes hiking, is also the best. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“There's only one Walking Mehmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I've had the pleasure of walking with Mehmet on several occasions. He is your first choice, a daywalk with Mehmet will without a doubt be one of the highlights of your trip. Make sure you take your time, preferably a full day.

Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mehmet's the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

He knows the area, its history, its charms and its secrets. Best of all you can walk over this beautiful landscape without a care in the world because you are in the care of a great guide and friend who will lead you to the most scenic spots, the best hidden caves and chapels, the best little cafes, all the while informing and entertaining you about the region's history, and natural history. An added bonus is the beer at sunset club,

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skip the hot air balloons. A higher and more spectacular experience with Mehmet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Prior to booking, I had read another tripadvisor's report that a day with Mehmet would "change your life." I thought that was a little overstated, but after my full day hiking tour with Mehmet, I would agree that the experience does cause you to reassess priorities, recharge your batteries, and recalibrate your life. He is very wise and very insightful. He will take you into the heart of Goreme's valleys, into hidden churches, to the top of plateaus, and can talk about anything and everything under the sun. You actually will hike higher than the hot air balloons, for more spectacular views. At some points we had to do some acrobatics to get into hidden "pigeon houses", and other times were hiking single file on a goat trail, so this requires some fitness. However, he tailors where you go based on your fitness level. We went for a full day (approx 7 hr) hike, and it was only 80 euro. Far beats 110-130 euro pp for a hot air balloon ride. Don't miss this .

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Mehmet/ Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Walking Mehmet/ Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walking Mehmet/ Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.