We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in Goreme” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Hafiz Abdullah Efendi Sokak 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
90 384 271 2474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All the ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared. Cooking classes are available(prior reservation is necessary).Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM.Sundays closed !
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Goreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We are yet to compare other Goreme restaurants, but this sets a very high standard. From the outside, it looks nothing special, but as soon as you enter you know you are in safe hands. The meze selection is excellent.
The service was very attentive and knowledgeable, and the lamb shank for mains was sensational.
Selection of local wines was very good.
I think we'll be back tomorrow.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    147
    35
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Amazing Food. Though we opted for the vegetarian dishes on the menu, the meal was totally worth it. This is a family run joint and you require a prior reservation.The Mezze Platter was just too good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Went there teice with my friends! Meze are delicious! Main couses tastefull and very well presented. Maitre, chef and all the staff made us feel at home. Here you can taste tipical and wanderful food as well as turkish kindness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had heard about this restaurant which is so justifiably popular that it's impossible to get in without booking. We came late in the afternoon with no hope of booking a table - indeed it was full that evening - but as we left the owner came after us and said that if we were prepared to eat late he would squeeze us in. We were, and were so glad that we could. The atmosphere is extraordinarily friendly, the décor interesting and the food superb. It was one of the two best dinners that we had during our trip around Turkey. If you visit Goreme you must go - but be sure to book in good time! It really was an evening to remember.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“So good that we went there twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My girlfriend and I had dinner in this restaurant during our holiday in Turkey and liked it a lot! Althought the menù is quite limited the dishes were delicious. We had a plate of "meze" which was probably the best we had in our holiday and pieces of lamb as main course, which was terrific! It was served with rice and cooked with some delicious spices and herbs, which made it absolutely great! we ended our dinner with a dish of home made baklava and a cup of apple tea. We enjoyed our dinner so much that we booked another table two days after!
personnel is very friendly and price is very good for what you're offered. As it is well known among tourists, I suggest to book a table before going there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topdeck Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.