We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside a Goreme cave eating vegetarian delicacies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Hafiz Abdullah Efendi Sokak 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
90 384 271 2474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All the ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared. Cooking classes are available(prior reservation is necessary).Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM.Sundays closed !
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Inside a Goreme cave eating vegetarian delicacies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

In the land of fairy chimneys (caves) and not eating inside one was something we could not forgo, So we got reservations for dinner because this is a popular joint, and we are vegetarians. The excitement of eating inside a cave was fulfilled, more so due to the excellent service. The owner and his family handle it all - and we got served by their young daughter, who managed the task flawlessly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    148
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Honest service and the best food we had in Capadocia. Prices are fair and after speaking to the owner we learned that meat and wines are locally sourced with quality in mind. Loved it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Harika!!,awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friendly staff,perfect ambiance,every dish been carefully made,velvet wine (local wine) was perfect..
Few and good options for food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really liked their food. The vegetable soup was the best. It is Turkish food but with a European twist. The prices are ok and the waiter was really kind.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food - unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My boyfriend and I having read a series of commendable reviews before on Topdeck Cave Restaurant, decided to try it out for dinner. It is probably worth mentioning that this is a family run restaurant and as a result, the service and attention we were paid from the minute we entered the restaurant was truly second to none. The hosts were very open about providing suggestions in terms of the quantity and variety of food and overall provided some great recommendations.

We ordered the mezze dinner plate for our starter - which was more than enough for us to both share and this gave us the chance to sample some of the kitchen's finest dishes all in one plate. For our main course we decided on the lamb dish which was probably one of the best dishes we both had. The lamb was extremely tender and so good that we ordered another serving!

The combination of the most warm and friendly service coupled with excellent food in an intimate environment, made this one of our best dinners in Turkey! I would strongly recommend Top Cave restaurant if you are looking for some of the finest and most simple dishes and an unforgettable dining experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topdeck Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.