We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Hafiz Abdullah Efendi Sokak 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
90 384 271 2474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All the ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared. Cooking classes are available(prior reservation is necessary).Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM.Sundays closed !
beijing
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on Tripadvisor's advice… and we were not disappointed at all. Great food with many spices (though not strong at all), great service, and relatively cheap prices. They also serve a variety of Cappadocia wine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    160
    42
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gavirate, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place in Goreme!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Very characteristic restaurant, Cappadocian style built in a cave. You have 3 normal tables and 3 low tables where you can eat sat on confortable pillows and carpets.
The food is the classic turkish one, I suggest a plate of meze (mix of cold appetizers) to be shared with your partner, and then you have several choices of meat.
Quality is great, price is even better. For a full dinner you spend 30€ in 2 pp.
The service is very good, the host speak a very good english and he's helpful and honest in suggesting you what and how much order.
Since the place is quite small, reservation is much needed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This restaurant had the most wonderful service and great food! The waiter and the owners were so friendly and welcoming. The food and wine was excellently priced and delicious. I would eat here again and again!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Intimate dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Go to make reservations earlier in the day. Definitely worth it. Small cave dining experience. Mezze's were delicious, staff were friendly and helpful, enjoyed the whole experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really kind owner. Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came here after looking into Goreme's tops in tripadvisor and making a soon reservation (the place isn't too big).

We weren't astonished by the food we ate. The place is really nice, although some people may not like to eat sitting on the floor. The owner is really careful with the service he gives his clients and is really interested in keeping the first position in tripadvisor's ranking.

I would recommend the place because the price we payed wasn't too much for the food we ate, but If I were you, I wouldn't arrive with really high expectations about the food you will eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topdeck Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.