We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family-run restaurant...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Hafiz Abdullah Efendi Sokak 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
90 384 271 2474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All the ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared. Cooking classes are available(prior reservation is necessary).Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM.Sundays closed !
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family-run restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We turned up without a reservation, and luckily they managed to squeeze us in for what turned out to be one of the better meals we had in all of Turkey. The service was great and the food was excellent, all in a charming and intimate setting...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    148
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, Not Incredible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I went hear after hearing the rave reviews on TA, as well as having a less than stellar dinner the night before.

In general, this is a very unique restaurant with an intimate (read small) dining area with some tables and floor seating options. The staff was moderately friendly (actually noticed some 'tude from the staff) although did have some communication problems when we ordered and seemed to want to blame us for ordering from the wrong server.

After that minor snafu, we got down to business ordering the medium meze plate and lamb shank. Definitely enough for two people

The meze plate was good, but the lamb was really good. Definitely recommend the lamb. It's a cool experience, and worth it for the price, but don't expect to be blown away. It's the best restaurant in Goreme, according to TA, but it's compared to other restaurants in Goreme, not NYC.

Also, reservations are a must.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“hos geldiniz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate here twice. Small, slightly bohemian, cave restaurant. Back wall with floor seating and low tables and then some normal tables and chairs. Ultra friendly owners and daughter with imaginative and flavourful food. Good wine. Good recommendations and help with menu and portion sizes. Absolutely delightful evenings.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“it was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went to this restaurant due to the high TA reviews. It was disappointing to be honest. There was nothing wrong with the food but it wasn't the standard that I was expecting from other reviews. The owners and staff were very friendly and the restaurant had a nice feel. I am not suggesting that you don't visit this restaurant but don't expect anything out of the ordinary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked this restaurant our first night in goreme from reviews off trip advisor. It was a really lovely meal, the restaurant being small and intimate was nice however I didn't find the service THAT great, had better in other restaurants in Goreme.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topdeck Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.