We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it's No.1 spot on TripAdvisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Hafiz Abdullah Efendi Sokak 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
90 384 271 2474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All the ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared. Cooking classes are available(prior reservation is necessary).Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM.Sundays closed !
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth it's No.1 spot on TripAdvisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to Topdeck on our final night in Goreme and boy did we leave the best to last. It is a lovely family-run restaurant built into one of the many caves there and the food cooked by Mustafa is a feast to behold. The meze were to die for, by far and away the best we tried on our stay in Turkey and the cold rice pudding was a taste sensation. Mustafa's two daughters were an energetic bundle of facts and stories out the front of house and will surely be missed when they finally quit to concentrate on their studies.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    148
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great little family run restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great restaurant exuding with Turkish hospitality.. Dad is the main cook and his two daughters take orders, explain the dishes and are very energetic. The atmosphere is good..Dark cave house with seating at tables and on cushions on the floor. The menu is limited... Basically the appetizer menu consists of either a small, medium or large sampler of many different dishes. The main course is either chicken, lamb or beef. We had the lamb, which was more like a stew and still had meat on the bones. The food was good, but not the best in cappadocia. I'd still recommend going, but for the experience as a whole.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best run family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The food and the service was superb. You have to make an appointment to get in. My favorite food is the mazes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A real family restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in Göreme for 6 nights and ate here for 3 of them since the food was so great. Mustafa cooks the best local food using only fresh ingredients and you can tell. Zaida and their daughters do the rest to make the experience truly wonderful. If you are staying in Göreme just do yourself a favour and make a reservation as soon as you arrive 'cos you'll kick yourself if you only find this gem at the end of your trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts and fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We came on the recommendation of Mustafa from The Arch Palace Hotel, and we were so glad we did! I can't eat garlic and onion, yet our friendly chef cooked a special meal for me without the g & o. It was so good for me to be able to eat tasty food and not feel I was missing out. The whole family is so lovely and friendly - a very well run and exceptional place.

We had 2 lovely nights here and wished it could have been more. It was great to talk to the family and we felt we left as friends.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topdeck Cave Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.