We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manzara Restaurant

Manzara Restaurant
Harem Sokak 14, Goreme, Turkey
+90 384 271 27 12
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 74 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The view was really perfect so I highly recommend you to have dinner at here. Panoramic view is beautiful. I paid around 15 TL for 1 main meal and 1 bottle of water + we were given one dish of fresh fruits by owner. was so lucky^^
Everything was perfect, but serving was bit late. but u dont have to care it so much. I am South Korean so i am definitely impatient!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    18
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like any restaurant, excellence is indicated when locals choose it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was on a trip through Turkey with two other friends and had the pleasure of eating at Manzara in Goreme. We had earlier that morning had the most excellent experience with a balloon ride and the pilot himself recommended Manzara when we asked. Later, the crew from the balloon company was there eating - the ultimate recommendation when locals choose any place.

We were not disappointed - a spectacularly coloured and flavorful plate of mezzes started the meal along with warm fresh bread and an order of boregi which comes out a lot like a samosa, but filled with warm meat and cheese. The mains were the real highlight - particularly the Chicken Curry in a cream sauce with apricots. This was my dish, and it was perhaps the best thing I've yet eaten in Turkey (...and I've eaten a lot!)

The wine selection is also notable - not for its size but because it features local production. We enjoyed two bottles from the nearby Kocabag winery - both Kapadokya grapes and Okuzgozu grapes, the latter which were the favorite of the table.

Finally, the service was excellent - so excellent, I'm surprise of some of the other comments I've read on Trip Advisor. Suffice it to say that our experience at Manzara was exceptional enough to write this positive review - from a group of people who rarely write any reviews anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Expensive, bad food, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Would NOT recommend this restaurant. We chose it because we wanted the fairy-chimney views, but we would have been better off eating elsewhere. There are plenty of other restaurants that have nice views that don't have the drawbacks of this establishment.

The food is really nothing special. We ordered multiple small plates and much of it was not fresh or heated up. In addition, this restaurant is very expensive, and there are much better options for less money in Goreme. In addition, the staff is really surly, whenever you ask for something they give you attitude. The service is also very slow.

In sum I would avoid this place, it is a classic tourist trap and the nice view is not worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food is not good but the views and drinks are amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by here after a light dinner to get appetizers and a couple of drinks. The views are amazing. You can see a lot from the rooftop terrace and the night we were there they had a fire going as well. The hosts were kind enough to set us up with chairs right in front of the fire. We chatted for quite some time with the owners cousin, a very friendly fellow. We had a couple of local vodka drinks and some fried cheese appetizer. The drinks were great but the food was very dry and not flavorfull. I would recommend just for the experience to hang out with locals and for the views.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul , Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A good place for lunch or dinner””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed a delicious and reasonable dinner here together with our children.The atmosphere of the restaurant was very good.Excellent food, comfortable surroundings and friendly staff. I highly recommend you give it a try if you're in Goreme.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manzara Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Manzara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manzara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.