We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pottery cooked food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sedef Restaurant

Sedef Restaurant
Bilal Eroglu Caddesi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
0384 2712356
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 78 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sarasota FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Pottery cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The old-style Turkish food is tasty although fairly greasy and not cheap. The restaurant is very popular, so service can be a little slow. Overall, however, it's an excellent experience

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    132
    54
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

After looking at several restaurants this one looked the best and had been recommended by our hotel. We asked to look at the menu and the waiter, whose name was Hakki, proceeded to entertain us with his description of the meals but in a way that he should be on the stage and not a waiter. He clinched the deal and gave us a lovely table on the patio by a large rose bush. He recommended a local dry white wine and it was very good and very reasonable. Then he brought out a long puffy flat bread warm from the oven together with a platter of Tzaziki, crumbled feta cheese, a spicy dark colored spread and a cheese based spread which we ravenously scooped up with the bread. All were delicious. For mains my wife had a local specialty which was a sort of chicken stew baked in a clay pot. I had another local dish which was spicy meatballs in a tomato mixture and arrived sizzling in a copper dish. Both were wonderful. Throughout the whole dinner Hakki flirted shamelessly with my wife but in the most humorous, entertaining way which added greatly to the whole dining experience. We were then comp'd a plate of fresh fruit and hot apple tea and a shot of Raki. Every single aspect of the dinner was perfect but Hakki made it very special. He may very well be the best waiter we have ever had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

lovely ambient. authentic turkish cuisine. Mains were not bad but their starter flat breads was definitely the best among all other turkish restaurants we visited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“big fun, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

take lamb in pottery, all meze with Raki and breat - you will have a lot of fun apart of great good.))))

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We wanted to try the beef and chicken testi and we were told this was a good place to give it a try.We were glad we did! I know this is a "tourist dish" but after all we are tourists. It was delicious and plentiful.The meat was tender and all ingredients were perfectly seasoned.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sedef Restaurant also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Sedef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedef Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.