We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Göreme (in Turkey, in fact!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nostalji Restaurant

Nostalji Restaurant
Gaferli Mahallesi Kale Sokak 4, Goreme, Turkey
+90 0384 2712906
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 78 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $22
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Johnston, Iowa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Göreme (in Turkey, in fact!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My daughter and I loved Nostalji so much we ate there two different times during our short stay in Kapadokya. Both times we had the beef or chicken clay pot dishes (cooked in a clay pot and cracked open tableside) with wonderful pilav and lettuce/tomato/cucumber salad. If you want the clay pot dish, you might want to call ahead or make reservations because we were told by our hotel staff that it takes two hours to prepare and they can run out. For dessert we had Turkish coffee and the best baklava we both have ever had...not overly sweet and melt-in-your-mouth. The woman cooking the food came out and told us that everything was homemade with fresh, organic ingredients, and it tasted like it.

My daughter loved the Turkish coffee cups and saucers and asked our server if he knew where she could find some similar. He made a phone call and the next thing we knew, he said he would have them for her (at his local price) the next day. Perfect service and hospitality.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    34
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Must Visit - Exceptional Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stopped in here after walking through love valley and watching the sunset from the viewing platform over Goreme. The waiter was VERY friendly and accomodating, despite the upper deck being closed due to it being early season he was happy for us to go up and set up a table and chairs to have some evening drinks before retreating to the dining room for an amazing meal. If you want a clay pot meal you need to order it early in the day as they make them fresh rather than from frozen like most restaurants.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The food was ok but not the best we ate in Göreme. Some dishes were cold but we ate beautiful Dolmas. Great Turkish coffee but the baklava was quite bland. A great view but a little squishy inside. We were recommended their by a local because of it's reputation for home style food but i we weren't blown away.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Another good choice with a good service and food. But, I insist, Góreme is not the place to eat good and cheap.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Get the Pottery Kebep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I ordered the lamb pottery kebab and was blown away; really outstanding and the homemade Baklava is to die for (less sweet than the Greek variety). I was there in December and they opened the restaurant especially for me. I had outstanding service and most important the meal was out of this world.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalji Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nostalji Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostalji Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.