We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koza Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Koza Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Koza Cave Hotel
Aydinli Mah. Cakmakli Sok. No:49, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hosts --- Jem & Devish were nice and helpful. They always gave useful advice to their guests and chatted with them like friends. They were attentive to the guests' needs and always willing to go further to make them happy. Talking about the room, we stayed in a double room which was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and quiet. Breakfast was lovely with high quality of food and drinks. A definite enjoyable experience when staying in Koza Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
167
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

What can I say??? I would not stay anywhere else. You get what you pay for and more. Koza was the cherry on top of a wonderful adventure in Goreme.
Dervish, I know you read these reviews and take a lot of pride in making sure your guests have a memorable stay. Your attention to detail really makes Koza one of a kind. A huge thank you to you and your staff. Everyone is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Everything from the fabulous breakfasts and one-of-a-kind rooms, to sharing a few stories over multiple bottles of wine on the terrace made this a part of our trip that all of our friends hear about.
Myself and Janelle really appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy schedule to personally bring us around the countryside to see some of your favorite sites while listening to some Pavarotti! This is what separates Koza from everyone else, the personal touch that is included with your stay.
We are extremely lucky to have met great friends at Koza and would love to meet again one day. If you ever do that cross-Canada drive you were talking about, you are always welcome to make a pit-stop in Calgary. I'll be sure to have numerous Heineken's on ice!!
Again, a huge thank you to the entire Koza staff. Keep up the good work!! Take care...
Paul & Janelle(Calgary, Canada)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel! Everyone in our group of four thought that it was one of the most charming and unique hotels we've stayed in--the rooms are comfy and the bathrooms were amazing (ours had a large jacuzzi, hamam, and shower!) One caveat about the bathroom is that there wasn't a door in either of our rooms--the toilet is on a separate level and around a corner, so it's not a problem, but could potentially be awkward if sharing a room with friends rather than a significant other.
The hotel is a short and very scenic walk down a fairly steep hill into town. The owners are very nice and we enjoyed chatting with them. We'd highly recommend Koza Cave Hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms higher up have better internet connect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We just stayed for two nights at Koza Cave Hotel in Goreme based on recommendations from Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor. It was everything that was promised. Modern restoration built into a traditional Cappadocian cave house. Top design and extremely friendly hosts who gave great advice, and booked us on a Butterfly Balloons trip where we were flown by Mustafa, the best balloon pilot in the region. One of our fellow passengers told us that she'd been on another company's trip the day before with her children and it was a disaster. Both Jem and Dervish's explanation was "we only recommend the things that we would do ourselves, whether it be balloon flights, restaurants or shows". Although Koza is not cheap it's well worth it. The way Dervish has designed and constructed the rooms within the cave is outstanding. Top quality fittings for bathroom and recycled materials for the other rooms. It took four years apparently to construct the ten rooms and must have been a labour of love. The restaurant next door is also extremely good, with great ambience and specialising in Anatolian food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The buzz we picked up around town gave Koza Cave Hotel the #1 rating and we couldn't agree more. Location, views, charming, well-appointed rooms, a fine breakfast: they're all there. But what really catapults Koza into stardom are Cem and Dervish, proprietors and hosts. They were friendly, warm and helpful. For us, there's only one place to stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at Koza Cave Hotel in Goreme and it was a lovely experience. The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful views. The owners Dervi and Jem were very helpful and their hospitality was great. They really went out of their way to accomodate any of our requirements such as renting a car or booking the baloon trip to taking us to the local hammam. Our room was spacious and very clean with beautiful furniture made of recycled material in one way or the other... Highly recommended and will always remember our interesting talks till 2am in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the Koza Cave hotel in April 2011, and it was wonderful. I agree with all the reviews, it really is an exceptional hotel. The hotel is a three storey cave hotel which was restored over about three years, and was a labour of love for the owner, Dervish Bey, who paid exceptional attention to detail to everything: from the hand wrought iron bannisters to the inclusion of a hamam and jacuzzi bath in the suite room.

We wished to have not only a cave experience but a luxe one as a treat, and so chose the suite on the ground floor. This room was lovely, a comfortable bedroom which led up to a small seating area and an enormous bathroom, which was larger than the bedroom and seating room combined! After a full day walking about, it was a treat to come back to a calm and peaceful room. We were also supplied with water and herbal soaps, and plenty of fluffy towels.

Breakfast was a lovely Turkish buffet, and particularly enjoyed helping myself to the jug of the freshly squeezed orange juice (though had to jockey for juice and coffee with Belgian honeymooners who also enjoyed it all, albeit far more enthusiastically than us!). Dervish Bey pointed out that he tries to use organic and quality ingredients as much as possible, and it showed. The buffet is not huge but was plenty for us.

Will not go into the sights of Cappadocia here but will say that a balloon ride is completely worth every penny! Dervish arranged for us to fly with Butterfly (Kelebek) Hot Air Balloons, and it was fantastic. He also made sure that we flew with British pilot Mike, reputedly the best and most experienced hot air pilot in the region. And Dervish was right - Mike was excellent. He had a vast knowledge of all the valleys, down to the wildlife and flora, and showed exceptional skill in lowering us right into the valleys and even landed the balloon directly on to the trailer! Thanks again for that recommendation, Dervish!

Of course, it was not only Dervish who helped us, his partner Jem was also helpful and very articulate and thoughtful in his recommendations. Dervish's wife and teenage son were also charming. And finally, the rooms were absolutely spotless, cleaned with real attention and care. It is not the cheapest in the area, but we wished to have something a bit more upmarket. We wish the Koza Cave Hotel every success.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Koza Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koza Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Cakmakli Sok. No:49, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koza Cave Hotel was restored using reclaimed stone, iron and wood building materials. It offers rooms fitted with traditional Turkish rugs and furnishings. Several rooms have a living room with a fireplace. Some feature a jacuzzi and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Koza Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koza Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koza Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.