We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Balloons

Butterfly Balloons
Uzundere Cad No 29, Goreme 50180, Turkey
+90 384 271 3010
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Floating effortlessly just an arms stretch away from the tops of the fairy-chimneys, fruit trees and then ascending high above the ice cream coloured ravines, this is simply the best way to travel above the valleys of Cappadocia.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was an experience not to be missed! Butterfly Balloons were extremely professional and made the experience so memorable. I am terribly afraid of heights, but felt safe throughout the flight. The balloon ascends slowly and glides through the air. There was enough room in basket to accommodate everyone with space to spare and I never felt scared. The company picked us up at our hotel and after a short breakfast of fruit and coffee we departed to the site where the balloon was ready for take off. After the long ride we had sparkling wine to celebrate the wonderful experience. I would recommend Butterfly Balloons to all!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    39
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
369 attraction reviews
Reviews in 239 cities Reviews in 239 cities
692 helpful votes 692 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It took me a lot of time and arguments to convince my wife to fly over Cappadocia in a balloon so I had to make sure that we selected the safest and most rewarding ride ! Fortunatly we were staying at the Kelebek Hotel and they were offering a rebate if we were to fly with Butterfly Balloons !
The ride was totally amazing ( those are the words used by my wife ) and Mike , our pilot , proved to be quite an entertainer and a real professionnal ! We never felt insecure (again the words of my wife) and the views were fantastic !
We were one of the last balloons to land and that he did directly on the trailer , for the amazement of the passengers ! Sparkling wine , coffee and homemade cake were offered to everyone after the ride as we had the opportunity to meet and mingle !
I was happy to ear my wife telling everyone that it had been the highlight of her trip and I agree with her !

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We flew the ballon on an icy day of December. The view is fascinating! The crew on land was very helpful and professional and the pilot was simply great! Our flight took longer than other companies and he "played" by entering the valley and getting close to the rock. The experience is amazing! A must in Capadocia!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The only one you should balloon with.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent company, very hospitable. They picked us up promptly, then took us for breakfast which consisted of fresh fruit juice, and a standard turkish breakfast. We were then taken to a gorgeous site where we got into our balloon. One of our friends crewed for these guys and said that they were super professional and to be honest, I always felt safe with them. Our balloon pilot, Mustafa was trained in the US and took us on a phenomenal trip. He was clearly very skilled, including a soft landing. Would highly recommend and wouldn't think about going with another company.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“magic first day in goreme!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived at our hotel in Goreme at 11pm and were told that because the weather was about to change if we wanted to do a balloon ride we should do one straight away the next morning... well we hadn't even really thought about it but on the spur of the moment we said ok and our host gave us 3 brochures to look at and we went with Butterfly because it was priced in the middle of the other 2! what a fantastic lucky choice we made because we had the most magical morning. It's an early start at 5.40am - we were picked up then taken to the warm office of Butterfly balloons and enjoyed pastries, delicious fresh fruit and hot drinks while we were waiting for our balloon pilots to check the weather and choose a starting point. We ended up waiting a little longer and by the time we got out to the launch site alot of balloons were already in the air. We started our trip at a different point and virtually had the air to ourselves! Our very skilled pilot took us up and down and in and out of gorgeous valleys and we felt very safe and lucky to have chosen such a brilliant company to do the ride with. We finished with hot wine and champagne in a snowy field! Absolutely fantastic experience, a great way to see the landscape - especially in winter when hiking and other options are a bit limited. Cruising over the fairy chines with snow on the ground a clear blue sky is one the best experiences we've ever had.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Butterfly Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Balloons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.