We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book right now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caravanserai Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | gaferli mah., Goreme, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Book right now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was absolutely amazing. Goreme itself is also beautiful, especially in the snow. Our flight was delayed around 4 hours, meaning we had to check in at 2am on a blizzardy night. Thank goodness we stayed here as there was someone to let us in. The staff they use for the airport shuttle are also amazing, they waited over three hours for us to get us to Goreme from Kayseri (which you NEED a shuttle bus for!). The service was spectacular. We were offered lifts to local attractions (although they were close) and personally introduced to local restaurants. The community here is wonderful, they know each other really well. The staff also recommend tours to do and hot air balloon rides, which were all spectacular. Without their great advice, we wouldn't have been able to see so much during our short stay. Our luggage was lost on our Pegasus flight for two full days and the hotel completely took care of getting it to us. Thank you so much for such an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    83
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
147
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I had a wonderful stay to Caravanserai cave hotel especially in the big cave room downstair. I was so happy to get exactly what I was looking for in this area of Cappadocia.... Sedar did very well , applied to me at anytime and creating a nice hotel with a lot of charme and caracter. Breakfast very nice and quality perfect... Serdar, his staff and friends also organised a nice night for new year 2013 for his customers.. (barbecue, traditional music and danse). I will remember it

Thanks to Mujahiz , his assistant for his friendness and availabilty at any time.
I definitely recommend this hotel, well located and exactly like the pictures ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Caravanserai. I emailed Serdar many times with many questions before we arrived and he always answered promptly and courteously. Upon our arrival, Serdar was unavailable, but he made sure to have a friend look in on us and set up our tours and answer any questions. His assistant, Mujahiz was "Johnny on the spot" for anything we needed. The whole atmosphere was very friendly and service-oriented. Rooms were as indicated on website and TA and the location was excellent. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Serdar and his father make this a great hotel. The whole experience is great. Serdar was very helpful answering my emails before arriving and once we got there, he was very helpful ith all kinds of tips and suggestions. The property is very cute and Goreme style. A lot of people talked about being cold in the Goreme hotels when they visited in the Winter, but this was not an issue at all. We had heaters in the room and they worked great. Same thing with the hot water, we had hot water the whole three days, it was never an issue.
The breakfast is great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Caravanserai hotel is conveniently located right in the center of Goreme and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Serdar is a great host and makes you feel welcome the moment you step into his property. One day when I was walking towards the Open Air Museum, he saw me on the road and stopped to give me a ride in his car all the way to the entrance of the museum which was greatly appreciated.

Rooms are very clean and nicely appointed. However, there are some that are smaller than others so not all of them are the same. Breakfast was good with lots to choose from. There was an assortment of cold cuts, cheeses, sliced cucumbers and tomatoes, olives, fresh and dried fruits, cereal and eggs. The views from the dining room and the rooftop terrace were fantastic. In addition, there is a company of cats that seem to hang around the premises all the time which adds to the charm of the place.

The only con that I can think of and this is not the hotel's fault is the very close proximity to a mosque, which in the early hours starts the call to prayers. I was able to hear the call from my room and if you are a light sleeper this might be a concern, so pack your earplugs.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here and appreciated the nice courtyard and rooftop terraces with priceless views. The price that I paid was a bargain and I feel that I really got my money's worth at the Caravanserai.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and really liked the hotel. We had a room with double bed which was large but my cousin who stayed alone in a room with a twin bed had a slightly smaller room. So not all rooms are likely to be of the same size. However no complaints for me as the rooms were spacious and very clean, including the bathroom. The breakfast also had good variety to choose from. The location was good but the same can be said for most hotels as its a fairly small town.
The ‘cave’ aspect of the hotel comes from the fact that like all cave hotels in the area its made of stone giving you the feel of being in “The Flintstones” era which we really liked & what most people look forward to while selecting a hotel. Other than that the rooms are the pretty much the same from the inside.
The father-son duo who run the hotel were very helpful and mingled with the guests who stayed there.

Room Tip: The hotel serves only breakfast- no lunch or dinner at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Goreme - close to everything. The staff were particularly helpful organising tours and balloon rides and the room was cosy and comforting. It is very clean and great value for money. We did have a problem with the water on several occassions but this was fixed right away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | gaferli mah., Goreme, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Goreme
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravanserai Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.