We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caravanserai Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | gaferli mah., Goreme, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed recently with my wife and young son. Our son was ill initially, but the staff were very helpful and accommodating to all our needs. They let us store his medicine in the fridge and even let us use their milk free of charge any time.

Serdar is very good at helping out with your needs but I would like to give a special appreciation for the lady working in the kitchen. Not much English but she was very good at helping us with our son, both in terms of entertainment and other needs.

The rooms are quite alright, and the location is very convenient as it is very close to the centre of the village. It is particularly suitable for anyone who has children or for other reasons do not want to walk up and down the hillside to where most of the other hotels are located.

Another reviewer writes about problems with the hot water and we experienced the problem also, but as soon as we took it up with Serdar he immediately had it fixed so it was really a minor inconvenience - good service can really make up for most little flaws a hotel may have on the material side.

The upstairs restaurant/lounge area is a good place for striking up a conversation with the staff as well as other guests. Appreciated the wi-fi also, as it saved me tons on data roaming for my smartphone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    83
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
79
149
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Two of my friends and I had the pleasure of staying at Caravanserai for three nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

In particular, the owner Serdar (I hope I´m not mispelling) is extremely warm and helpful and can be counted on for a bit of banter. The facilities in this hotel are satisfactory, well-maintained and clean. It appears suitable for all types of travellers.

Goreme in general is a very quaint and friendly place. But as in many tourist areas, some locals are prone to hard selling. Serdar doesn´t do that - he´s quite forthright and sincere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had booked via email and specified that we wanted an "arch" room. Upon arrival the hotel seemed to have us booked for a "cave" room and since an arch room wasn't available we took the cave. They offered to put us in an arch the next night. The guy I had been corresponding with seemed very persistent that I had booked a cave. It was all I could do to not pull out my written confirmation of an arch and put him in his place (oooh he was so confident we had booked a cave).

Since we arrived early (9:45-ish), the older gentleman told us to go enjoy some free breakfast. We dropped our bags off and headed to the terrace for breakfast, but even though it should go until 11, there was no food whatsoever out. A woman asked us if we wanted coffee, but that was it. Strange welcome.

I didn't book a cave originally because I had an idea of what I'd be in for - dark and dank - and the pics on their website and TA were not very compelling. We ended up in a dark, dank, cold cave with a double and 2 single beds and one little window that opened to the dark courtyard. After a long day of hiking, I just wanted a shower and there was zero hot water. My husband went to tell the front desk and we waited around 10 min. while the gas was turned on and the water heated up. Upon getting ready for bed we realized just how "thin" the walls were. Technically there was a silver ventilation pipe that joined our room to the room next to ours, and it sounded literally like I was participating in the conversations next door. On top of hearing the talking next door, they also had their TV on. The neighbors fortunately reduced the volume upon me asking, but the room was much much louder than I ever expected. There was also a strange leak at the very end of the room that had flooded part of the room. Yikes!

The next day we were moved to an AWESOME arch room with a nice sofa/bench and really felt that we could have given this hotel higher ratings had we been in this room the whole time. No shower heat problems. Oh lordy, the outside is loud, though. The call to prayer is LOUD. It's loud all over Turkey, but super loud and followed with dogs wailing afterwards in our room. In the morning we heard roosters at all hours and the gas bursts of hot air balloons. Just don't expect to sleep in too late (we lasted until around 7-7:30).

We enjoyed breakfast when we were able to try it - very tasty. We also enjoyed the Sedef restaurant that the hotel recommended. On our final day we were inquiring for info on how much a taxi would cost to hike Rose/Red Valley (starting near the Open Air Museum). The older gentleman offered us a free ride in his car which was greatly appreciated and saved us a bunch of time.

Upon checking out there was a bit of a price discrepancy with what was in their PC vs. my email printout. My email prevailed. Just remember to bring your paperwork just in case!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oserdar, Manager at Caravanserai Cave Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your input as it is greatly appreciated. We apologize for the mix up with you room and unfortunately this does occasionally happen although it is rare and we have made improvements to our booking system to avoid these mistakes in the future. We are glad you enjoyed your stay after the room issue was settled and appreciate your patience with us.
Serdar Celik
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I would definitely recommend the Caravanserai Cave Hotel for the friendliness of the hotel staff, we travelled in Turkey with our four month old, and when we mentioned that we wanted to take a balloon ride, Serdar was more than happy to oblige with babysitting services at 5:00am!!

We were supposed to stay in a cave room, but unfortunately my husband's sinuses did not appreciate the damp environment, so we changed rooms.

I would also suggest that anyone who is sensitive does not stay in the cave rooms, but the rest of the hotel is great.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The service was good in the way that the management and staff made you feel welcome and tried to assist you in anyway they could. The hotel itself is not what I expected. The steps are different levels and because it is very dark and passages only light up when there is movement, it can be hazardous. Also the heating of the water is a problem. It is luke warm and takes a long time to heat up. No placae to lounge around. There was a pc in their small little office that was difficcult to use because some of the keyboard letters were missing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a good view of the ci
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oserdar, Manager at Caravanserai Cave Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Since your review we have fixed most of the problems mentioned. We have since redone our stairs and installed more lighting. We have also purchased another PC for guest use as the one you were provided with was never intended for guests. We also feel that their is ample space to lounge in both our courtyard and our terrace.
As for our water we apologize for the lack of heat and we continue to work on that.
We appreciate your input and thank you for your stay.
Serdar Celik
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My husband and I spent two nights here and had a great experience. Upon arrival Serdar greeted us. As soon as we were settled he gave us all the information we needed to know about what we could do in this region of Turkey: tours, walks, balloon rides, recommendations for eateries. Serdar and his father love gardening and the terraces and patios were covered with pots of blooming flowers. Both hosts spoke English and were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was good which is often not the case when it is included in the price. Bread, olives, cucumbers, tomatoes, yogurt, a lovely fried filo dough filled with cheese and one morning we were offered omelettes. You can walk to everywhere in town easily. The mineret is close by and there is one on each end of this small town so no matter where you stay you will be awakened and called to prayer. It is Turkey afterall.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

From the online booking, to the transfer from the airport, meet and greet and drinks on arrival, personalised tour with Ozur (apologies if we have spelt it wrong), and top notch friendly hospitality for our 3 day stay in Goreme, this lovely hotel, in our eyes, is the only place to stay in Cappadocia. We stayed in a cave room, which was a nice and different experience. If you haven't been to Goreme before, it is worth spending at least one night in a cave room. Breakfast was typically turkish and most enjoyable. Every couple of nights the hotel offered dinner on the rooftop terrace (highly recommend - great food and great value for money). Do yourself a favour and book yourself into the Carvanserai when you next visit Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | gaferli mah., Goreme, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Goreme
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravanserai Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.