We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunset Cave Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Cave Hotel
Gaferli Mahallesi Aydin Kiragi Sokak No: 5, Goreme 50180, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Cave Hotel during May, 2011. Ali, who was managing the hotel at the time, went out of his way to help us. From picking us up at the bus station to helping us resolve problems with our mobile phone to arranging tours, he was a model of Turkish hospitality. Our cave room was very comfortable and clean, and we had access to our own private terrace overlooking Goreme. The location of the hotel is about halfway up a hill, so we had a great view but still did not find it difficult to get down to (and up from) the main part of town. We highly recommend this great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
49
22
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Experience the deluxe cave rooms for comfort and great views over Goreme.
Ask for directions as coming by car it can be hard to find. Street parking is easy.
There are lots of steps especially to the deluxe rooms at the top of the hotel.
The spa bath did not work but the bathroom was clean, large and adequate.
Breakfast is fine. The hosts are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
It is a short walk to restaurants and bars in town.
Plan an early rise to see the ballons float over Goreme. Well worth it and Sunset cave Hotel makes an excellent viewpoint.

Room Tip: Deluxe cave room is worht the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

First of all, the location of this hotel is superb.The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. I like this hotel very much.. my room... breakfast.. all was great.. i want visit Goreme again and stay this hotel too.. my room was very very comfortable... i recommended this hotel everybody.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We were picked up by the owner from Kaseri who waited 2 hours for our late train.
Service was friendly and efficient. Rooms lovely with views over the town (which is stunning) Owner arrange balloon trip etc. and made everything feel effortless

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Had a fantastic stay here at the sunset cave hotel, the staff where very helpful and would arrange tours for me when needed without being pushy. My room was very comfortable and warm even when snowing outside, the turkish breakfast was also great. Definately a great place to stay and easy to meet people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

this was a very fun place and a great value for the money... so glad I had a chance to visit this unique town of Goreme

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

I traveled Goreme in winter season. I really liked the sunset cave hotel's heating system; I could use hot water every time and room was so comfortable and warm. The clean and white bedding was my mom's favorite.
The owner, Hasan, was so friendly and willing to help us. The turkish breakfast had various bread and fresh foods as a buffet. The dining room was really cozy, and i could drink a turkish tea, turkish apple tea, and coffee whenever I want. It was awesome!! The location is very ideal because it is located near the main street and you can see a beautiful sightseeing of Goreme in front of your room. And I and my family enjoyed the tour very much. You will not regret if you choose Sunset Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cave Hotel

Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Aydin Kiragi Sokak No: 5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cave Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.